What’s Hot/What’s Not: 09/19/10

What’s Hot:

Brian Wilson out at FNC – Wilson has apparently been permanently suspended from FNC. The reasons for the suspension are not clear. The unofficial-official version, aka the leaked version, is that Wilson had anger management issues and one incident cited involved Wilson chewing out a staffer and kicking a chair. But according to FishbowlDC Diane Brandi of FNC’s legal wing was brought to DC to handle the situation. That seems like an awful lot of firepower for an anger management issue. Another tidbit: The Hotline’s On Call wrote that FNC PR confirmed that Wilson “resigned”. Resigned? If it’s an anger management issue you don’t need them to resign. You probably have enough cause to terminate without having to go through the negotiation process. Unless there’s more to this story than has been publicly revealed; something nobody wants revealed. Is this possible? I can safely say yes, it is possible. Very possible. If I sound cagey here it’s because I have to be. But I’m not buying the unofficially official version of Wilson’s departure. And we’ll just leave it at that…

Disharmony on Amercian Morning – FTVLive was the first to report stories that Kiran Chetry and John Roberts weren’t getting along. Now this story has gone public after Roberts chewed Chetry out on the air. It will not be long before one or both are gone from the program now…

Dennis Kneale – Kneale’s days at CNBC may be numbered…

MSNBC tops CNN on “Primary Night” – It wasn’t a major primary and I wish the networks would stop overbilling these non-major primaries but MSNBC did top out over CNN on Tuesday Night. The hours where CNN beat did MSNBC in the Demo were at 10 and 11pm but it wasn’t enough to keep MSNBC from winning the night coming out on top.

AP vs. CNN – Yahoo News’ Michael Calderone reported that CNN is still using AP wire stories after ending its agreement with the service. And the AP isn’t happy about it apparently.

What’s Not:

Shafted – My planned night dives on Maui Tuesday were canceled because there weren’t enough people signed up. Dang…

10 Responses to “What’s Hot/What’s Not: 09/19/10”

  1. I hate when you “leave it like that”, but I understand.

    I believe I predicted Spud would lead with the CNN/AP thing, so I was wrong. Had I changed my prediction I’d still have been wrong. Congrats, Spud, you’re unpredictable.

  2. ^ I had Wilson or Kneale and he was third. Do I win a prize?

  3. “The hours where CNN beat did MSNBC in the Demo were at 10 and 11pm but it wasn’t enough to keep MSNBC from winning the night.”

    I assume you mean MSNBC winning the night only against CNN because FNC won Tuesday night aganst both of them.

  4. ^ Goes unsaid now, Carol.

  5. I believe I predicted Spud would lead with the CNN/AP thing, so I was wrong. Had I changed my prediction I’d still have been wrong. Congrats, Spud, you’re unpredictable.

    I try to do these chronologically…as they happened during the week. Though not always. Wilson happened before the AP CNN story.

    I assume you mean MSNBC winning the night only against CNN because FNC won Tuesday night aganst both of them.

    Yes that’s what I meant but it was poorly worded. I’ve since changed it to make it more accurate.

  6. If it’s isolated incidents of anger management, that’s one thing – if there’s an environment or a culture that allows this (or other behaviors that make employees uncomfortable) to go on, that’s another. But Spud, you know more and you’re not telling us?

  7. ^ He’s sworn to secrecy to preserve his ability to be a private citizen with a blog..or something. I don’t get it.

  8. He’d tell us, but then he’d have to kill us. Hmm…

  9. That Roberts/Chetry blowout was odd. Having watched it live, I assumed that it was some staffer or technician doing some technical work while the camera was on Roberts. But apparently Chetry was the cause of the disruption.

    So, who’s the culprit here? Chetry for doing whatever she was doing? or Roberts for not ignoring it? It’s live TV & I’m sure Roberts is used to disruptions while on camera. But for him to complain on-air was unprofessional.

  10. clindhartsen Says:

    Very lightly put, but what are the chances we’ll see another morning refresh on CNN within a year? I can’t imagine numbers are that great, and if there’s issues on set between personalities, you’d think that’d be grounds to change things up.

    Still, I wonder if Kneale will claw his way back to Forbes and the Fox Biz/Biz Block front. I remember him being on there before he left for CNBC, and he wasn’t ever that great on CNBC to be honest.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

