The Hazards of Live TV: #25,144

I missed this yesterday as I was in transit but Eric Bolling demonstrated perfectly why he doesn’t have a show on FBN anymore…and should be taken off 4 on 1 The Five…actually 4 on 1 The Five should be taken off but that’s a subject for another day and has as much chance of happening as Bolling getting his FBN show back.

Watching Steve Doocy say “Of course…we knew that” in response to Bolling saying he was just kidding and making a joke made my eyes roll so far back into my skull I thought they risked becoming detached.

Of course an incident like this will cause some blowback. Too bad the biggest blowback is coming more from an opportunistic not-at-all disinterested third party rather than someone without a dog in the fight…

31 Responses to “The Hazards of Live TV: #25,144”

  1. Isn’t this the problem with a good handful of people talking “politics” on FOX?

    The big show for them right now, “The Five,” is based around maybe two politically experienced people (Dana, Bob), and then the rest really have no political experience or knowledge, at least that’s first apparent. Bolling knows business, Gutfield humor depending on your taste, and Guilfoyle knows … I dunno, crime? She started doing weekends on FOX years ago with The LineUp, as I’m remembering it. Even the occasional catch of On The Record feels uncomfortable since I think Greta actually knows law and crime, not politics. While I don’t watch FOX like I once did, it’s amazing to really see simply how many of the personalities feel like they are pandering to the audience more than actually saying opinions. There’s a difference what Cavuto did for years between Bush and Obama, or even O’Reilly, compared to lightweights like Bolling or Guilfoyle who come off as literally reading cards with bullet point words to make the audience happy.

    I dunno. It feels like there’s more politics and dead bodies than their used to be, but maybe I just don’t have your memory.

  2. I almost took this serously for a minute. You’ve got a problem w/ Bolling and his “crack pipe” comment that he directed toward that criminal Maxine Waters, but yoi’re OK with her calling the Republicans “demons”?

    And what about that “get out of OUR house” remark? Who’s House is she referring to – does that mean Republicans can now stop paying taxes, since the halls of Congress now belong only to the dems?

    Bolling’s just some guy on TV, but this old bat is an elected representative of Congress. Shouldn’t she be more accountable for her behavior, and wasn’t what she said worse than what Bolling said?

  3. Sorry; should have provided a link for the “demons” comment: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zrn5TYSbFGM

  4. You’ve got a problem w/ Bolling and his “crack pipe” comment that he directed toward that criminal Maxine Waters, but yoi’re OK with her calling the Republicans “demons”?

    Missy, I would appreciate it in the future if you would criticize me based on what I wrote not what I DIDN’T WRITE. Thank you.

  5. But Spud..what about THIS OTHER THING OVER HERE?

  6. – Guilfoyle knows … I dunno, crime? —

    Lovin’ it. Along with the rest of the comment.

  7. Gutfeld, Guilfoyle, Bolling and Tantaros don’t say anything. They throw conservative word jumbles in the air: A dash of “Obama radical” here, some “they always call us racist” there. It amounts to a rock star shouting “Detroit, are you ready to rock n roll!” to a cheering crowd. It’s all highly stupid.

  8. Spud, Rep. Waters’ comments were the impetus for Bolling’s remarks, were they not? Why SHOULDN’T they be included in the discourse?

    If she appropriately made comments regarding policy or whatever, I doubt whether Bolling would have made those remarks. But she called representatives of half the country “demons”, and told them to “get our of OUR House”! Could anything be worse?

  9. So, Missy is NOT supposed to comment on WHY Eric Bolling made his comment? He would not have made the comment he did with Maxine baby making her comments. And then the Los Angeles County Democrats would not have had the opportunity to make their comments. So, IMHO back off of Missy and follow the sequence of events. If the first words had not be spoken none of the subsequent words would have been spoken.

    You go Missy!

  10. Maxine “This Liberal is going to Socialize your Company” Waters invites people to rise up against her Rhetoric.

    I don’t think Mr. Bolling should have used Ms. Houston’s name but Water’s oftentimes sounds like she is on something.

    Whether it is telling the Tea Party to “Go to Hell” or her questionable alleged ethic violations, she spreads her vitriol wherever she speaks. By the way her ethics probe made headlines today which you can find almost anywhere on the net.

    Libs love to trash commentators on Fox but they never single our their own trouble makers…they just gloss over their suspensions.

    Missy, Libs hate it when you tell the truth.

  11. When Doocy said, “Of course we know that”, his body language was screaming,”Yeah, right.” Bolling’s sentiment regarding Rep. Waters may be valid but that’s not how someone qualified to host a nationally televised programme should talk. A Dana Perino, for example, could have easily conveyed a nearly identical message without being an offending ass.

    But she called representatives of half the country “demons”

    Two ‘wrongs’ don’t make a ‘right’. Three lefts do, however.

  12. As I said before, I think Bolling got caught using a common phrase at a very bad time. If he wasn’t such a lying jerk most of the time, I wouldn’t even notice this one. As for Maxine Waters, her language would be more obscene if half the Republican Party weren’t such hateful bastards. Yeah.

  13. Maxine Waters is a perfect testimony to the evil of gerrymandering. She’s a disgrace to any body that she represents. The Left deserves her.

  14. ^ That’s how you insult someone without mentioning ‘pipes’.

  15. Pam and ealazurus, thank you for your support.

    This double standard has GOT to stop. I’m just watching Rick Santorum go after Charlie Rose re: the “aspirin” comment. Santorum’s retort, comparing the situation to 0bama and Rev. Wright, was awesome!

    I hope Spud doesn’t kick me out of here! I got booted from Free Republic a few weeks ago, either because I dared to speak against the sacred Newt, or that I said I’d support Romney against 0bama, But I’m actually more of a Santorum supporter at this point.

  16. The fact is a 100% biased Republican like Eric should not be a guest co-host of FOX & Friends. Plus this is not the first time Eric made a comment he had to apologize for, “Hoods in the Hizzy”.

  17. Bolling’s bias isn’t the problem, it’s his amateurish ad-libs in front of a television camera.

  18. Is he on Twitter? Seems like we’d have heard by now..

  19. Missy, they kicked you out of Freep? Probably for being criminally adorable. Spud’s not gonna boot you..you’re practically his original reader. And adorable!

  20. Spud, Rep. Waters’ comments were the impetus for Bolling’s remarks, were they not? Why SHOULDN’T they be included in the discourse?

    Ah yes…the “two wrongs make a right” excuse. Not buying it. Bolling could have stomped on Waters without going the route he chose to.

    I hope Spud doesn’t kick me out of here! I got booted from Free Republic a few weeks ago,

    I would never boot you Missy. Your golden. Just respond to what I write on the blog when criticizing me on the blog. What Waters said was ridiculous (and typical for her) but it’s not cable news related. This isn’t Mediaite remember. Bolling’s response was the subject of this post.

    The Freepers booted you? Join the club. They booted me years ago and I wasn’t even trying to make waves. Their moderators really can be Nazis sometimes. There’s no method to their moderating madness. It’s all very clique-y and arbitrary depending on the mod.

  21. Yes, there is a huge club of “ex-Freepers”. They stated months ago that it was to be a Romney-free zone, and any words in support of him would be cause for dismissal. Guess Jim Robinson wasn’t kidding.

  22. Bolling fits right in on Fox, which loves arrogant, obnoxious men. Bolling, Doocy, Kilmeade, Greg Jarrett, Clayton Morris, Gutfeld, O’Reilly and Hannity all are cut from te same cloth. Shep and Hemmer are the only expections.

  23. “Their moderators really can be Nazis sometimes.” Don’t go extremes here. I think I have read here that people who go to the Nazi extreme have lost their ability to argue.

  24. Awaiting moderation? Really?

  25. I guess a comment I made repeating one of Spud’s words now is “awaiting moderation”.

  26. – Missy —

    She blinded them with science. ;-)

  27. “Ah yes…the “two wrongs make a right” excuse. Not buying it. Bolling could have stomped on Waters without going the route he chose to. “

    This reminds me of when MediaMatters went after Limbaugh for using the phrase “negr() dialect”. The fact that Harry Reid had used the phrase 48 hours earlier was somehow irrelevant.

  28. I love how Spud keeps subtly bashing Mediaite yet they keep inviting him back to guest post.

  29. I think Spud’s point is that Mediaite covers a wider range of topics. ICN is strictly cable news.

  30. Yes, there is a huge club of “ex-Freepers”. They stated months ago that it was to be a Romney-free zone, and any words in support of him would be cause for dismissal. Guess Jim Robinson wasn’t kidding.

    They do that over there. Robinson makes a declaration and then a purge ensues. Happened after he made his “I’m a Bush-bot” post. For a group that’s supposed to be Conservative and be about freedom, they sure do act like Stalinists sometimes.

    I love how Spud keeps subtly bashing Mediaite yet they keep inviting him back to guest post.

    Yes and no. I wasn’t bashing Mediaite with this post but pointing out that ICN is a blog about cable news that occasionally drags in politics whereas Mediaite is a site about politics that occasionally drags in cable news. No I don’t like it and it used to be better especially when Krakauer was around.

    When I do criticize Mediaite it’s normally on the merits and I lay out my case why it’s wrong.

    But yeah…sometimes I wonder why they continue to reach out to me.

    Don’t go extremes here. I think I have read here that people who go to the Nazi extreme have lost their ability to argue.

    You have a point. It was a lazy selection. I just wanted a word that would sum up a group of thuggish military like automatons who are can be arbitrarily vicious in their actions.

    I guess a comment I made repeating one of Spud’s words now is “awaiting moderation”.

    Yeah…I’m immune from the sin bin so my comment went straight through.

  31. No I don’t like it and it used to be better especially when Krakauer was around.

    Man do I miss him, I even miss Glynnis at this point.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

