Uh…Thanks…I Guess…but Seriously…ME?

Ok…sure it was water cooler material, and I guess it’s nice to be thought about. But come on…I am NOT one of the 13 best Media Reporters in the country.

Look at some of the people on that list…Brian Stelter…Michael Calderone…Jim Romenesko…David Zurawik… We’re talking serious reporters here…people working hard to tell important stories in the TV News world. Me? I lob hand grenades from a Barcalounger cloaked in anonymity. I’m not saying anything that any bozo couldn’t say if they paid close attention to this industry and how it functions/disfunctions. Whether that itself is an indictment of others covering the beat or not, I leave for others to decide.

I will say, honor or not, it’s hard to take this list too seriously given that both Gabriel Sherman and Howard Kurtz didn’t make the cut. ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME?!!??! I know Kurtz is polarizing, and I’m not always a fan of what he does, but he has the kind of insider access that some of the writers on Mediaite’s list would kill for. Controversial or not, that alone is enough to put him on the list in my book. And Sherman? Read this. It’s two years old but nobody has come close since it was published to putting out a story with that many revelations and must read nuggets in a single article.

I would gladly and humbly relinquish my inclusion to either of these men.

p.s. And I didn’t like the cheap shot thrown at TVNewser either. Yes, it’s the USA Today of media sites and doesn’t take many positions on anything. But that’s not its charter and it wasn’t its charter even when Stelter was running it (less so when Stelter had Cablenewser).

One more thing: Yes, the blog has seemed the past few months to be running at half speed or as Mediaite put it “seems to be on “hiatus” as often as he is writing”. This development has not been lost on me. I can’t pin this down on any one thing. Part of it is me back working again the past six months (though still a temp). Part of it is also due to the way I blog. I blog when I have something worth noting or something that’s got me worked up. There was a time many years ago when I’d write about anything tangentially cable news related regardless of how banal it was. I just can’t do that anymore. It feels too much like going through the motions…blogging for blogging’s sake. If ICN was a for profit blog, I’d have no choice but to blog as much as possible. But this is still just a hobby for me and as such I can “soul blog” and be true to myself.

2 Responses to “Uh…Thanks…I Guess…but Seriously…ME?”

  1. Be it ever so humble, there is no place like ICN 2.0

  2. You do a great job,but you have a “real” life too so don’t feel so bad about not beating your brains out for this blog.I do appreciate your views sometimes,they aren’t as cookie cutter as many sites.

    As for Mediaite,you can’t really look to them for but so much wisdom.The “media” part of that site has really faded since Abrams left and during the entire election period it was mostly a shrill us versus them shouting match.Even now Christopher continues to come across as a child.

    I will say that if you did more stuff here you might really be a major figure in the media reporting arena,but that comes at a price you’ll need to decide if you want to pay,and I wouldn’t blame you if you didn’t.It would mean a major increase in commitment to what I suspect started out as a hobby.

    Maybe the way to play it is like people who find themselves on TV unexpectedly,wave and grin then go on with your life and do what you do how you want to do it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

