Jeff Zucker on CNN’s “New Day”

Yes, I’m late getting to this. Work swamped me yesterday. The Huffington Post’s Katherine Fung writes about CNN’s presser yesterday for it’s upcoming “New Day” morning program…

He added that the lesson he took from the Curry fiasco at “Today” was that chemistry between co-hosts is the key ingredient to a successful show. He said he had tested Cuomo opposite five different anchors before settling on Bolduan.

“When we put Kate next to Chris, you just knew and [the chemistry] was there and as it unfolded, you saw it,” he said. “And I’ll tell you about the first time I met Michaela. I was like ‘Holy shit, where have you been?’”

Zucker confirmed reports that he had talked to Erin Burnett about moving to mornings, but said they were unable to hammer out a deal. “I had two conversations with Erin about the morning and in the end we both decided that it was probably more important for her and more important for the network for her to stay where she is at 7,” he explained. Burnett also “preferred” not to wake up so early, he added.

As for the format of “New Day,” senior executive producer Jim Murphy said viewers can expect a “super newsy” show, but one that is “looser, a bit more fun, and hopefully a bit more interesting” than what he said CNN has been known for in the past.

9 Responses to “Jeff Zucker on CNN’s “New Day””

  1. Good sales job on the new CNN morning show. If you believe Zucker it sounds like a hipper version of Today with younger hosts and no cooking segments. Even the name – New Day – sounds like a off shoot of Today. Will it work? Who knows. My guess they won’t get the year + it takes to build an audience.

    The question I have is where does this new expanded audience come from? Not from F&F; whose audience aren’t interested in any show not aimed at bashing Obama and the Democrats as the main focus. The Morning Joe audience are mostly political junkies who have little interest in subjects other than political talk. They may draw some interest from the mainstream morning shows and their existing morning show viewers but I don’t think that’s enough to make the new show special.

  2. I’ll watch it. Either Morning Joe got terrible, or I just got sick of it. I still have it DVRed every day, but never get past the opening segment anymore.

  3. I find the show uneven. Some days it’s a really good political discussion (particularly if the guests are well informed) but often it’s boring (when Joes away or Mika is whining), self centered (when Joe or Mika are ranting) or usually when they discuss music, books, entertainment, sports, medicine or other non-political subjects. It’s a limited audience but when it works, I think, it’s the best show in it’s time slot.

  4. Joe: “When I was in Congress!
    Mika: *tsk* *sigh* “Bad food!”

    New Day has to be better than that.

  5. “New Day has to be better than that.”

    ^^I hope so but I won’t hold my breath. I expect it will be a Today Show copy with younger hosts and a few more news breaks – and no cooking. I’ll check it out but if that’s the format I’ll stick with MJ. I’ll just keep the mute button handy.

  6. bushleaguer Says:

    Joe – agreed re: Morning Joe and either it got terrible or I just got sick of it. I don’t know if it’s their shtick or their guests or what but I used to watch Morning Joe every day but these days I just make it through the first 20 minutes and I’m done. I’m looking forward to what CNN has to offer.

    On a side note – nice dig at Burnett by Zucker in revealing that she “preferred” not to wake up that early.

  7. On a side note – nice dig at Burnett by Zucker in revealing that she “preferred” not to wake up that early.

    ^^Yeah it’s true it’s a cheap dig and maybe he’s trying to goad Burnet into quitting by inferring she’s not a team player. But she had a number of good reason’s;(getting up at 3AM being one of them), in my opinion, for not moving to AM. I think the main one is having to play second fiddle to Cuomo and likely becoming mostly a newsreader and a foil for Chris to play off. We’ll see how Kate and Michaela fit in the pecking order once the show starts.

  8. icemannyr Says:

    Yeas it’s funny how he says Bolduan was the best but then says he asked Erin twice.
    So in other words he wanted Erin, she said no and Kate was the best of the five who tried out as co-host.

  9. ctrlway Says:

    I would not be surprised if New Day did cooking. When CNN Espanol revamped its morning programme, they introduced cooking. Nothing is off-limits.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

