Damage Report

- Fractured clavicle (at the sternum…a rarer form of the fracture)
– bruised and/or fractured ribs on both the front and the back
– as yet unknown shoulder damage (we’re still dealing with just the clavicle…need a CT scan to ascertain whether it’s displaced and may require surgery and of course the insurance company is dragging its feet signing off on the CT scan)
– severely bruised or otherwise damaged right shoulder blade (how my bike jersey survived intact given the road rash I’m sporting is beyond me)

…basically my upper right side is a big mess…

Landing on the back of my skull has produced no damage. Given how thick it’s been speculated to be here on the blog that should be no surprise I guess. Right after the fall I did think to myself, “Wow I sure did hit my head hard…I wonder if I have a concussion?”…which was immediately followed by “You idiot, if you had a concussion the first thought in your head wouldn’t be ‘Do I have a concussion?’…it would be ‘duh…garble, garble, blah, blah, duh'”

I’m in a lot of pain. Sleeping is hard. Everything is hard. This sucks.

60 Responses to “Damage Report”

  1. carolmr Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that. I hope you mend soon.

  2. You hit that hard on pavement!? How?

  3. bushleaguer Says:

    Hope you start to feel better soon, Spud.

  4. savefarris Says:

    Landing on the back of my skull has produced no damage.

    The prosecution for “Florida vs. Zimmerman” would like to call you as a character witness.

  5. Spud, your self-diagnosis of no concussion is not reliable. If you crashed that hard without a helmet, you need a CAT scan pronto.

  6. Having had my sternum severed to get at my heart, I appreciate your discomfort and healing hurdles. Not to worry here, Joe and I will handle things. Now if you’d just give me the power to ban commenters…

  7. Ouch. Hope you’re better soon Spud.

  8. I have a recumbent trike Spud can use. It looks like he needs a bike that won’t fall over for a while. ;-)

  9. paminwi Says:

    Wow, that was quite a spill you took! I hope for quick healing and few sneezes! I am glad you have someone to keep an eye on you in regards to a possible concussion. Don’t minimize that possibility.

  10. erich500 Says:

    Sounds awful. I just thought, “Nah, just a broken collarbone, no big deal.” But you did much more than that.

    Like Instapundit you need a guest blogger or two. Or you can let one of us fill in. In fact several rotating on shifts as they find the time.

    Yes, that suggestion will make you heal fast.

    Most important question (for bikers): how’s the bike?

  11. I want that trike.

  12. Most important question (for bikers): how’s the bike?

    If it’s that Trek he used to ride, it probably has a few more scratches. Those old steel mountain bikes will outlast us all.

  13. Spud, like Larry, I’m also a member of the Zipper Club (named after the scar from the surgery). I know you’re in a lot of pain. I do agree with Joe on getting the head checked out. Al can better explain all the hidden problems that may be lurking there.

  14. erich500 Says:

    The body is still moving and the vultures are already circling.

    The internet: red in tooth and claw.

    Red in tooth and claw. I thought it was Shakespeare but it’s Tennyson:

    “Who trusted God was love indeed
    And love Creation’s final law
    Tho’ Nature, red in tooth and claw
    With ravine, shriek’d against his creed”.

  15. 1) I had a helmet on. It took all the force. I’m chucking it. It doesn’t look like the foam cracked but I’ve been told that once you have a hit like that you should chuck the helmet and get a new one…

    You hit that hard on pavement!? How?

    Normally when I tumble off a bike I go down and sideways and roll….or my elbow locks up and breaks like what happened in 2006.

    This time…I got air…a lot of air. I cartwheeled. I remember the collision…then a pause…then my head the ground (from the back…I did a 3/4 summersalt) then my upper back hit hard. Then the rest of me came down. I got a nasty welt on my back on the right side above my hip. I got a five inch long road rash on my entire right shoulder blade.

    I got a few minor scratches on my knees and elbows…nothing on my hands. What’s that tell you? My shoulder and side took the brunt of it. My big fear is rotator cuff damage. Too soon to tell without something like an MRI. Everything over there is too sore and swollen to pin down anything specific. The bulge where my clavicle meets the sternum…where the break is…was the most obvious sign that something is messed up so that’s what we’ve been concentrating on. I guess we need to wait until the swelling goes down to see if there’s other serious damage.

  16. Get well soon , sorry to hear that

  17. Sorry about your busted-up upper right side, but it’s a safe bet that those injuries absorbed the force that could have swished your brain or damaged your c-spine. You know… really ruined your weekend.

    Doesn’t matter whether it’s a government programme or a private insurer, I am always mystified at the thought processes of those “claims” people who question a scan for a trauma patient. I picture eee-ville manipulators who care nothing about others’ pain and who aren’t bothered one iota if your bones heal in the wrong place and a surgeon needs to go in later to re-break the injury.

    You’ll be fine. We can rebuild you. We have the technology. You can be… The Six Dollar Man.

  18. What did you run into? That’s a pretty violent crash for a pavement ride.

  19. Hope you heal quickly and as painlessly as possible.

  20. You know… really ruined your weekend.

    Well it felt ruined to me…

    What did you run into? That’s a pretty violent crash for a pavement ride.

    One of those concrete slabs you usually find in front of a parking space. There was no parking space nearby. I should have seen it coming but I didn’t.

  21. ^ Whoa, that sucks. I’ve come across a few of those in odd places.. like, “What’s that doing there?” No, I would not want to clobber one..

  22. Grandpa Dave Says:

    One of those concrete slabs you usually find in front of a parking space. I’ve heard them called a “Fender Curb”. My wife tripped over one a few years ago and banged up her knee. Took almost a year to get back to normal. But a youngster like you will probably heal a lot quicker.

  23. Plane crash at San Francisco Airport.

  24. I hope you have a speedy recovery! Take it easy.

  25. missy5537 Says:

    Wow. I just came back to b*tch about the over- coverage of the airplane crash, and find out that Spud has been injured. Get it taken care of Spud, and prayers for your recovery.

    Now to the plane crash. Yes, it was a big deal, but two people were killed, similar to the number of fatalities that occur with car accidents each and every day. And it sounds like pilot error was at fault. So why do they have to go on, and on, and on and on about this for the next year? Contrast this to the very scant coverage of the nineteen firefighters who lost their lives in AZ. THAT is a huge story that is hardly getting any play.

    Since you probably won’t see this anywhere on the news, the visual alone of nineteen hearses carrying their bodies is heartbreaking: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KrrK7uaWHuQ

  26. missy5537 Says:

    And I forgot to mention that most of these heroes were in their 20s. Their lives were horrificly cut short.

  27. ^ I agree – but this is what happens when you have a 24/7 news cycle. There should had been more coverage because it happened earlier in the week.

    But no one should be dwelling of “well this story should be covered, because its more important, because we have to care about the souls in AZ.” Comparing and contrasting and forcing things into perspective in a form of a preach to me is a waste of time.

    All stories should be treated as important – but sadly that’s just idealism not realism. You should also know Missy that I haven’t watched much of the news because I can’t stand the over coverage of Obama and his scandals and this SFO story got me glued to the news networks because I for one like fluid events. And SF is in the top 10 metros in the US, which impacted a very busy airport in terms of commerce and people traveling.

  28. * FBN just made a reference of AZ fire fighters memorial in their “West Coast Minute” speaking about this subject.

  29. missy5537 Says:

    Wow. “West Coast Minute”! So presuming that other stories were also covered, they probably spent about five seconds on the firefighters.

    I know a plane crash is of significance, but when is the last time that many firefighters lost their lives in one event? 9/11 was probably the last time. I’m guessing that because the tragedy occurred in “flyover country”, its significance is minimalized.

  30. But a husband committing adultery is either no biggie or the wife’s fault, depending what mood he’s in.

    http://www.mediaite.com/online/are-you-gay-or-lesbian-pat-robertson-says-you-might-cause-god-to-vomit-out-america/

    Across this great land, supporters of Traditional Marriage are begging Pat to stop helping.

  31. But a husband committing adultery is either no biggie or the wife’s fault, depending what mood he’s in.

    http://www.mediaite.com/online/are-you-gay-or-lesbian-pat-robertson-says-you-might-cause-god-to-vomit-out-america/

    Across this great land, supporters of Traditional Marriage are begging Pat to stop helping.

  32. Missy,

    it was nearly 15 seconds. Cheryl typically reads 3 stories for their Left Coast audience at about 12:47. The b-roll featured the service of the closed freeway and the fire trucks going by.

  33. I’ve seen much coverage of the firefighters, including interviews with family members. The plane crash happened on a weekend minimal-news morning, and there was a video feed of a huge wrecked plane sitting on the runway for cable news to broadcast. I don’t see a “bias against flyover country” conspiracy here.

  34. I agree with Joe. Plane crashes; particularly those with video of the crash; are catnip for cable news. I find the wall to wall speculation boring but that’s what cable news does.

    The firefighter deaths were sad, but only newsworthy as a big national story because of the number of deaths. If only one firefighter had died it would be a local story only. Unless there was negligence by someone there’s no long term story there.

    The story that did get buried this weekend wasn’t the firemen’s death but rather the Quebec train wreck; 5+ dead, 40+ missing, a downtown destroyed and no one driving a train with dozens of rail cars filled with crude oil. The Egyptian revolution also got buried in the plane crash story.

    But don’t worry Missy today we will get back to the only story that really matters – the Zimmerman trial.

  35. missy5537 Says:

    fritz, I agree! I’ve heard virtually nothing on the oil spill, and the Egyptian revolution coverage was meager. Fox had rerun of Stossel on all weekend.

    But as you say, nothing matters except Zimmerman. Unless Jodi Arias develops a zit or something.

  36. missy5537 Says:

    If anyone wants to know anything about the oil spill in Quebec, you can go to the CBC website. The 13 people killed in that disaster seem to carry significance to the people in Canada, who are somehow not fixated on George Zimmerman and Trayvon.

    http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/montreal/story/2013/07/08/lac-megantic-quebec-train-explosion.html

    Sorry to be whining so much today; I am just realizing the magnitude of the way our media channels our attention. There are other things going on in the world, but our media (including my beloved Fox) really have a way of pushing which stories they want to show. That’s fine, but when they go hour after hour on a topic while ignoring other stories altogether, we viewers are left ignorant of a lot of what’s going on in the world.

  37. It’s kind of amazing that with three news-channels, one needs to find a work-around for certain stories.

  38. Missy, if you get on Twitter and start following people from Europe and the Middle East, you’ll be shocked at how much the US media skips.

  39. Unless Jodi Arias develops a zit or something.

    The Penalty Phase 2.0 starts later this month, just after the Zimmerman trial finishes. The freaking Martians could invade and it’d be ignored to hear about her sex life ad nauseum.

  40. you’ll be shocked at how much the US media skips.

    Very true, but it’s also true that the foreign media skips an awful lot. I think it has to do with the perspective from which each group views events. Perspective can be a thick blinder.

  41. SCOTUSBLOG:
    @FISA_Court we have EPIC’s application. Thinking of ruling ███ ███ ███ but maybe ███ ██. Reactions?

  42. “I think it has to do with the perspective from which each group views events.”

    ^^ I doubt perspective has much to do with which stories get covered by media; be it foreign or domestic.

    The major factors, for me, seem to be:
    1) Is there video, or at least audio, of the story and how good is it.
    2) Is there someone we might know or identify with involved in the story; a celebrity, politician, rich person etc..
    3) Does the story involve some mixture of crime with multiple deaths, weird sex, sympathetic (white woman or child) victims, racial dispute, far left/far right politics, natural disaster with multiple deaths, military invasion or coup with major US interests, weird or funny human interest (bear falling from tree) etc.
    4) Does the story involve a political horse race.
    5) Does the story involve a missing white woman, missing or dead white female child, some potential disaster that could happen within a certain time frame (airplane with landing gear problem).
    6) Does the story involve a large natural disaster in the US; hurricane, ice storm etc.
    7) Live coverage of a criminal trial with sexual, racial or political overtones and;if possible; some debate as to the guilt or innocence of the person(s) on trial or the victim.
    8) Does the story involve abortion, gay rights or climate change politics.

    There are probably more but the list above covers most that I can think of off the top of my head.

    The stories that aren’t going to get coverage involve education, the poor, inner-cities, farming, climate change policy, foreign countries without a US involvement etc.

  43. “I think it has to do with the perspective from which each group views events.”

    ^^ I doubt perspective has much to do with which stories get covered by media; be it foreign or domestic.

    The major factors, for me, seem to be:
    1) Is there video, or at least audio, of the story and how good is it.
    2) Is there someone we might know or identify with involved in the story; a celebrity, politician, rich person etc..
    3) Does the story involve some mixture of crime with multiple deaths, weird s*x, sympathetic (white woman or child) victims, racial dispute, far left/far right politics, natural disaster with multiple deaths, military invasion or coup with major US interests, weird or funny human interest (bear falling from tree) etc.
    4) Does the story involve a political horse race.
    5) Does the story involve a missing white woman, missing or dead white female child, some potential disaster that could happen within a certain time frame (airplane with landing gear problem).
    6) Does the story involve a large natural disaster in the US; hurricane, ice storm etc.
    7) Live coverage of a criminal trial with s*xual, racial or political overtones and;if possible; some debate as to the guilt or innocence of the person(s) on trial or the victim.
    8) Does the story involve abortion, g*y rights or climate change politics.

    There are probably more but the list above covers most that I can think of off the top of my head.

    The stories that aren’t going to get coverage involve education, the poor, inner-cities, farming, climate change policy, foreign countries without a US involvement etc.

  44. Brian Stelter ‏@brianstelter
    Big shakeup: Elisabeth Hasselbeck is becoming a morning show host. Source tells me she’s replacing Gretchen Carlson on “Fox & Friends.”

  45. Slade Sohmer ‏@SladeHV
    Big story not Hasselbeck going to Fox & Friends. It’s Gretchen Carlson getting a daytime hour. Not even a head fake to news. @brianstelter

    A little more makeup, a little shorter skirt, then out the door. That’s what happens when you demand your own show.

  46. Actually, it’s what happens when you’re female on Fox, with precious few exceptions.

  47. Laura, Gretchen would be as successful during daytime as E.D. Hill. Mabye less so.

  48. Of course, the story had been that The View (on ABC) might be ridding itself of its one conservative. Now the story is this great move by Fox. And remember when ABC was denying that with both hands? Good times.

  49. Gretchen Carlson does a good job on the radio with Kilmeade whenever he has her on, although I suspect that’s really Kilmeade’s personality making her look good. So her next job will prolly be CNN’s morning show in two years.

  50. Outsider Says:

    Looks like Spud is blogging a bit more. Hope that’s a sign you’re recovering quickly.

  51. It’s quiet over here.

  52. It’s quiet over here.

    Too quiet, Laura. Somethings up.

  53. Liberals are plotting. Teresa Heinz is behind it. That’s why she’s hidden away. Listen to Beck.

  54. Beck knows she’s a Heinz…. gotta tip her bottom side up and bang her real hard if you want to get anything out of her.

  55. Geez Al, the woman is in the hospital. You may be familiar with them..

  56. Yep, I see really sick people all the time. They love a good funny, too.

    Still in hospital a few days after being shot, President Reagan had a quick sit down in his room with a few government officials. One, a congressman, told a dumb joke and the resulting laugh made the president cough and choke. Vice President Bush, of course, leaned down to the ear of the offending congressman to tell him to tell another joke.

  57. Good ole Beck. “My wife is in critical condition.” IT’S A COVERUP!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

