Snowpocalypse…Atlanta Style…

CNN’s Carol Costello took to Facebook to talk about how her day went…

I must vent. Seriously an inch or two of snow has fallen in Atlanta. There are slippery spots–it is below freezing. But people in, say Chicago, would laugh at the utter chaos this has caused. I tried to get out of CNN’s parking lot at 1:00. After waiting in a line of departing employees for an hour I gave up. Luckily other co-workers did too. We waited together for two hours until the traffic cleared. Except it never did. I left work again at 5 (I get up at 4am) and got out of the parking lot. I live two miles away. It took me two hours to get home. I saw no salt trucks. No plows. No police directing traffic. I feel lucky though. Some people are still stuck in traffic. Kyra Phillips was stuck for 7 hours. Mr Mayor, what the hell?

9 Responses to “Snowpocalypse…Atlanta Style…”

  1. Um yeah, people in Chicago might laugh because they don’t realize that cities in the South don’t have the funds to maintain a fleet of salt/sand trucks that can cover the entire city.

    I don’t care where you’re from. You can’t drive on a sheet of ice.

  2. savefarris Says:

    Kinda puts the GW bridge closure in perspective. Seems the mayor of Atlanta (who obviously left his city unprepared) deserves at least the vitriol directed toward Chris Christie.

  3. well, he didn’t do it on purpose… or did he?

  4. I have friends in S.Carolna who saw this coming and made plans to stay home. In one of my IT Department cabinets I kept an “emergency overnight kit”: sleeping bag, shaving kit, change of clothes, carton of cigarettes (in the day), cash for the vending machines.

  5. Kinda puts the GW bridge closure in perspective. Seems the mayor of Atlanta (who obviously left his city unprepared) deserves at least the vitriol directed toward Chris Christie.

    One was a once in a generation storm event that was much worse than expected in an area not equipped to deal with such weather. The other was a malignant foul designed solely to cause a traffic disaster.

  6. I doubt Chicago has the infrastructure in place to deal with a major hurricane. Hell, Hurricane Sandy showed us that the Northeast US didn’t have the infrastructure to deal with a category one hurricane.

  7. http://www.myfoxny.com/Story/24574965/chick-fil-a-feeds-stranded-drivers

    This is typical of Chick-fil-a and what makes them awesome. It’s pretty much the only fast food chain I frequent.

  8. well, he didn’t do it on purpose… or did he?

    It wouldn’t surprise me. Sounds to me like they didn’t prepare in advance at all because they wanted to save money. Wouldn’t surprise me to see the governor talk about the failures on the campaign trail on a “government is the problem and can’t do anything right” platform.

  9. Kyra Phillips being stuck for 7 hrs. Could not happen to a nicer person!!!!! Wow Karma really does have a way of coming back and biting you in the bottom!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

