Free for All: 02/24/13

What’s on your mind? Mine is on sleep….since I haven’t had any overnight…

15 Responses to “Free for All: 02/24/13”

  1. I’m looking forward to a few things today:
    1) Is Piers hosting his show tonight? I thought I read he had a few weeks left, but his tweets act like he is done.
    2) I’m looking forward to seeing how Ronan Farrow’s show goes. I’m a CNN watcher and not MSNBC, but with all the hype… His show may be the new go-to show for me at 1.

  2. What’s on your mind? Mine is on sleep….since I haven’t had any overnight…

    Stayed up late for the Daytona 500?

  3. CNN is apparently racing to compete with the outwardly, admittedly liberal MSNBC – a network which has already sown up the market of liberal viewer. Why would a cable news consumer tune into CNN to get a watered-down version of the pure, uncut stuff that they can get on MSNBC?

    MEDIAITE’s Noah Rothman

  4. I was pretty much disappointed at Ronan Farrow’s new show. Aside from the marijuana segment it was pretty much a standard MSNBC Dayside show.

    Farrow was just too hyper for dayside and a lot of the segments, like the twitter poll, the on air intern, the white board and heroes and zeros, were well worn cable news gimmicks. The guests were all MSNBC staples and the topics and discussion mostly standard MSNBC fare.

    The only segment that was above average was the marijuana piece which was interesting and informed me of me something I didn’t know already.

    Like all new shows I’ll give it a few weeks to settle in before I decide if I want to watch it regularly, but it has a lot of work to do before it gets a passing grade from me.

  5. Well at least it didn’t suck, which is a good place to start from.

  6. Noah Rothman grasping at straws in his Mediaite column. As usual.

  7. “@ggreenwald: Ed Schultz was forced to cancel his appearance at DemParty fundraiser to ensure nobody thinks MSNBC is a DNC media outlet #PerishTheThought”

  8. It helps to read the date on a link. Especially when “2013/03” is right there in the link. The AC/Griffin rumor is 11 months old.

  9. It helps to read the date on a link. Especially when “2013/03″ is right there in the link. The AC/Griffin rumor is 11 months old.”

    ^^🙂

  10. I watched about 40 minutes of Ronan Farrow Daily, and decided it probably wouldn’t be a daily thing for me. It was alright, and I’ll probably give him another chance another day, but he was way too hyper and enthusiastic and awkward. It may just be the first show jitters, but he was practically unwatchable.

  11. Zucker might just be thinking the time is right to take that pilot out of can, Fritz🙂

  12. Ronan has zero experience in broadcasting so Griffin’s decision to toss him out this way makes him quiet the underdog. If he’s smart he’ll toss a bit of red meat to the MSNBC stalwarts to tide them through whatever disappointments they are experiencing until he learns the craft. His boss owes him a long trial period.

  13. savefarris Says:

    Chris Hayes trying to use the Mississippi oil spill to argue against fracking.

    Of course, they wouldn’t have to shuttle oil along the river if the Keystone pipeline was built. So you must be for that. Right, Chris?

  14. Chris likes those railway crashes too, I bet.

Leave a Reply

