David Gregory Out, Chuck Todd In…

The news has leaked out via Brian Stelter, MSNBC’s lower thirds, and David Gregory’s tweeting, and finally NBC has acknowledged the news.

NBC News President Deborah Turness emails staff:

Dear All,

I want to share some news about Meet the Press. After an exceptional 20 years with NBC News, David Gregory is leaving the network.

I want to express my sincerest thanks to David, who, after the death of Tim Russert, led Meet the Press for almost 6 years. Under his leadership the show has had a string of exclusives, and David has shown a remarkable gift for holding leaders to account and getting answers on issues that matter to our audience. He is an outstanding journalist whose sharp intellect and quick sense of humor have made him a pleasure to work with. I know you all join me in expressing our deepest gratitude and in wishing him the very best.

I am very pleased to announce that Chuck Todd will take the helm on September 7. There is no one with a bigger passion for politics than Chuck. His unique ability to deliver that passion with razor sharp analysis and infectious enthusiasm makes him the perfect next generation moderator of this beloved broadcast. Chuck will ensure that Meet the Press is the beating heart of politics, the place where newsmakers come to make news, where the agenda is set. We have some exciting plans to evolve and update the broadcast under Chuck’s leadership that we will be sharing with you shortly.

Chuck will continue as NBC News political director, and will hand over his roles as chief White House correspondent and anchor of MSNBC’s The Daily Rundown.

Andrea Mitchell will serve as moderator of Meet the Press this weekend, and will continue to be a central figure of the broadcast, along with some new names that we will announce in the coming days.

For nearly seventy years, Americans have turned to Meet the Press on Sunday mornings for unrivaled insights on the news stories, political battles and public affairs debates dominating the national discussion. The next-generation Meet the Press, led by Chuck Todd, is certain to be the must-watch political destination on Sundays and beyond.

Deborah

Left unsaid…who gets Chief White House Correspondent and who gets The Daily Rundown? Does the Daily Rundown continue at all going forward?

13 Responses to “David Gregory Out, Chuck Todd In…”

  1. Hopefully they just give Chris Jansing the Chief White House Correspondent title and rotate between all White House Correspondents The Daily Rundown or something.

  2. savefarris Says:

    I guess this means NBC is ready to declare the winner of the midterms.

  3. “Hopefully they just give Chris Jansing the Chief White House Correspondent title”

    I’m not sure Jansing will get the WHCC job. It may be hers eventually but she’s only been on the job a few months so I think it might go to someone with more seniority say Kelly O’Donnell or Kristin Welker. Just a guess though.

    As for TDR, and if they want to keep the same general format, The choices are pretty slim. Ari Melber or Steve Kornacki are the most knowledgeable political hosts available, but TDR is one of the few shows that Melber hasn’t subbed much on and Kornacki already has a successful weekend show.

    Luke Russert and Chris Cillizza are the regular subs, along with Welker and other WH correspondents. Russert isn’t ready yet and Cillizza, despite his knowledge and likeability, isn’t a very good host.

    My guess is Ari Melber.

  4. If they keep it (I doubt it), they’ll give it to Russert and it will be terrible.

  5. “If they keep it (I doubt it), they’ll give it to Russert and it will be terrible”

    Well that’s your opinion joe. The facts may differ.

  6. You didn’t really just say “that’s your opinion”, right? Wtf does it look like I do here??

  7. I’m not sure Jansing will get the WHCC job. It may be hers eventually but she’s only been on the job a few months so I think it might go to someone with more seniority say Kelly O’Donnell or Kristin Welker.

    I doubt it would be O’Donnell because she’s already #1 reporter for Capitol Hill so why mess that up? I doubt it would be Welker either because NBC would have to leapfrog Welker over Jansing after pumping Chris up by giving her the “Senior” title. That kind of move plays bad optically. In fact bringing in anyone over her plays bad optically unless it’s someone with an impeccable White House background that everyone would agree would be deserving of the gig.

    I think NBC doesn’t name a Chief right away. I think it sees how Jansing does as the “Senior” and then elevates her in due course if things play out well.

  8. danoregon Says:

    Why do I think the “exciting plans to update and evolve” will include Twitter, Instagram and viewer questions?

  9. “Why do I think the “exciting plans to update and evolve” will include Twitter, Instagram and viewer questions?”

    ^^God I hope not. I hope it means banning guests like John McCain Chuck Schumer but I’m not holding my breath.

  10. “I think NBC doesn’t name a Chief right away. I think it sees how Jansing does as the “Senior” and then elevates her in due course if things play out well.”

    ^^Yeah that makes sense. My point was mainly that you didn’t want it to seem like the current WH correspondents weren’t capable of handing the WHCC role.

  11. “You didn’t really just say “that’s your opinion”, right? Wtf does it look like I do here??”

    ^^ Sorry Joe. I forgot you don’t use qualifers like “I think’ or “maybe”.🙂

  12. No worries, Fritz. Adding “this is my opinion” to a comment section dedicated to opinions seems redundant to me, so I skip it sometimes.

  13. Two points on the MTP changes.

    First: Reliable Sources had the best discussion I’ve seen or heard on the MTP host changes between Jay Rosen and Frank Sesno. A smart and informed debate between two really good commentators.

    Second: As good as a discussion as the RS segment on the Gregory departure was; it only showed how embarrassing the farewell tribute to Gregory, by Andrea Mitchell on this mornings MTP, was by comparison. Just the fact that they didn’t trust Gregory enough to do his own goodbye said all you needed to know about how they really feel about the departed host. NBC would have been better to have said nothing at all about the change.

Leave a Reply

