Megyn Kelly Interview…

Cosmopolitan’s Helin Jung interviews Megyn Kelly…

How much of your career moves are about having had a plan and executing according to that plan?

Almost none. There hasn’t been a five-year plan, and I don’t really believe in that. I know many people do. What I believe is, if you keep your nose down and your mouth shut and work hard, opportunities will present themselves.

It goes back to outhustling everybody. Take all that energy you’re putting into looking at the woman who got promoted next to you and thinking, She didn’t deserve it! Why didn’t I get it? and in the cattier circles, She must be sleeping her way to the top! and put all that energy back into yourself. You take all that energy that you put into sometimes negative thinking and put it back into yourself. Ask, How can I get this job? How can I do better? How can I be better?

You may not be the smartest. If you’re in a job that is in any way focused on appearance, you may not be the most beautiful. You may not have the best academic pedigree. You may not be the one who has the strongest résumé in terms of experience. But what do you have? What can you get? You can get smarter. You can get more informed. You can round out your skills in other ways to make yourself shine. That is so empowering, once you realize that. You throw yourself into it, and then you see rewards start to come.

Don’t get me wrong: When I go in for a contract negotiation, I have to ask my boss for things. It’s not like he just regales me with wonderful raises and opportunities. “I saw all your hard work and here are the rewards!” But over time, he understands who you are. He understands your work ethic, and the proof is in the pudding. He sees the results, he sees the interviews, he hears about your reputation. My boss never hears that I’m a diva who’s running around being bad to people. He hears that I’m a kind person who treats other people respectfully. He sees interviews get a lot of pickup. He sees me do a tough interview, and he hears the subject of said interview call him up and say, “I thought it was fair.” Over time, cream rises to the top, and the spoiled stuff gets thrown out. You have to try to be that cream.

2 Responses to “Megyn Kelly Interview…”

  1. He hears that I’m a kind person who treats other people respectfully.

    If she does say so herself.

  2. “He hears that I’m a kind person who treats other people respectfully.”

    ^^Well maybe if they say what she wants to hear. If they stray from the party line then not so much.

Leave a Reply

