The Decline and Fall of David Gregory…

The Washingtonian’s Luke Mullins turns in a must read on how David Gregory wound up losing Meet The Press. Lots of stuff in there to keep tongues wagging about NBC News but also some stuff pertaining to MSNBC…

Gregory had no shortage of rivals at NBC, and speculation centered on the two who were represented by powerful and media-savvy agents: Joe Scarborough, a client of Ari Emanuel, the Hollywood superagent and the inspiration for Ari Gold on HBO’s Entourage, and Todd, a client of Jay Sures at United Talent Agency.

Scarborough, the Republican congressman turned MSNBC talking head and host of Morning Joe, had been after Gregory’s job for years, according to former NBC employees. And inside MSNBC’s New York offices, Scarborough is known as a prima donna who doesn’t respond well to “no.”

“He constantly clashes with [MSNBC president] Phil Griffin,” says a former NBC employee. “There are times when he would just not even talk to [Griffin].”

When Gregory was in the hot seat, some thought Scarborough reached for the knives. And the staff wouldn’t have welcomed him in the moderator’s chair. In 2012, NBC executives had given Scarborough a shot at guest-hosting Meet the Press in Gregory’s absence, according to sources. But the network’s news division protested. Republican presidential hopeful Rick Santorum was booked for that week’s show, and letting Scarborough interview a fellow conservative would undercut the franchise’s nonpartisan bona fides. As a compromise, Savannah Guthrie moderated and Scarborough led the roundtable.

20 Responses to “The Decline and Fall of David Gregory…”

  1. So JS could not interview a fellow “conservative” (problematic for me with that description, but…) but what the heck kind of standard is that? I mean ABC lets George Stephanopoulos interview all kinds of Democrats, don’t they? The media world doesn’t seem to have a problem with that. What they were really most afraid of, IMO is that the liberals would not watch a Republican have the mantle of Meet the Press but have no problem with a Democrat in the exact same position.

    Hypocrisy is nothing new in the MSM.

  2. Letting a conservative opinion host moderate MTP and interview a Republican presidential candidate would have been absurd. I’m amazed NBC even considered it.

  3. Spud was right .This is a must read.

    The biggest takeaway for me was the story of how Al Sharpton got his MSNBC show. Turns out it was a partial payment for he and his organization’s endorsement the NBC/Comcast merger. It explains a lot.

    Another revelation was an explanation of why the new MTP is so gimmicky. It’s the hand of NBC news head Deborah Turness who as John Stewart says ‘Would like to turn the program into a variety show.’

    It’s hard to feel a lot of anger over how Gregory was treated as he got a nice multi million dollar settlement; but the shows low ratings weren’t all his fault. Interference from suits at head office also played a big part. I’ll bet showing that gun magazine as an on-air prop wasn’t Gregory’s idea.

    Joe Scarborough comes across as a petty and ambitious bully (as does Todd – to a much lesser extent) but it explains why he’s still appearing on the show after a number of appearances where he acted like an *sshole.

    Not a lot of heroes in this tale.

  4. David Gregory is a Democrat and he interviewed Democrat presidential candidates. i.e. Hilary Clibton and Obama. I do not recall you complaining about that at the time.

    Ever hear of “double standard”? You got a case of it full blown, baby!

  5. I do not know how David Gregory votes, and it wouldn’t matter if I did. He’s not an opinion host (like Scarborough) and never acted as one on NBC or MSNBC. So your “double standard” is an imaginary one derived from the odd notion that all media are liberal if they don’t say things blatantly conservative.

  6. Kevin Ehsani Says:

    David Gregory is a Democrat and he interviewed Democrat presidential candidates. i.e. Hilary Clibton and Obama. I do not recall you complaining about that at the time.

    Have you seen David Gregory’s voting record? Please… to call him a “democrat” is comical, at best. He sucks up to the corporate conservative establishment so much. It’s sickening. Remember when he was at one of the White House Correspondent Dinners dancing with Karl Rove? He was buddy buddy with the Bush administration, and nobody made a peep about it. He treated Bush with kid gloves for the entire 8 years. If he was a “democrat”, he definitely didn’t make it obvious.

  7. I do not know how David Gregory votes, and it wouldn’t matter if I did.”

    ^^It works like this joe. If your a member of the MSM and don’t state publicly that you vote Republican then your automatically a liberal. Proof isn’t necessary. Think Joe McCarthy.

  8. I know, Fritz, and it’s exhausting arguing with these people. They take it as an article of faith that all not-openly-conservative media have a liberal bias, and talk to me as if I should just accept it. It’s the “keep saying it ’til it’s true” game, and I ain’t playing.

  9. David Gregory NEVER would have agreed to bring that magazine on TV if he was a Republican. Also, he is NY Jew and to this day Jews in major numbers vote for Democrats. 70% voted for Obama in 2008 and 74% voted for him in 2012. Since exit polling started in 1972, 70% of the Jewish population have voted for Democrats.

    Statistically speaking, I am going with that DG is a Democrat.

    Stats provided by the NY Times, November 12, 2012.

  10. I don’t think predicting Gregory’s politics based on his “Jewishness” is a particularly good idea. It also misses the point. Everybody has a political leaning, including every journalist ever. David Gregory has never presented himself as an opinionator, so his politics are moot. Scarborough is an openly Republican opinion guy who has no business interviewing anybody on a straight news show.

  11. “he is NY Jew and to this day Jews in major numbers vote for Democrats. 70% voted for Obama in 2008 and 74% voted for him in 2012. Since exit polling started in 1972, 70% of the Jewish population have voted for Democrats.”

    ^^That’s an idiotic argument Pam. Gregory is also white and polls show more whites vote Republican than Democrat. And he’s rich and polls show more rich guys vote Republican than Democrat.

  12. Trying to argue with you blind souls concerning the massive progressive slant among the contemporary media is like trying to argue with flat earth advocates. If you can’t see it or don’t realize it, I’d rather discuss flat earth, thank you very much.

  13. ^ Well thanks for showing up on a site you don’t contribute to, to announce that you won’t contribute to it. I think I’ll mosey on over to the Flat Earth Society blog to tell them I’m not talking to them.

  14. ^^He he he! Maybe Pam changed her handle again?

  15. Hey, hey fritz! My goodness you are a hilarious man! I changed my screen name (not substantially in any way) because I had a computer crash and could not remember my password. So no, I do not play stupid games by being multiple names on the web. Maybe you do. I do not.

  16. Fritz, this has nothing to do with Pam. Someone named SenRex dropped by to tell us he wasn’t talking to us. Which was amusing😉

  17. ^ In case that was too subtle, the message is this: If I have a thing to say to Pam, I’ll say it. I don’t think it’s helpful to have her dragged into a convo I was having with someone else. I responded to SenRex, then somehow it became Fritz responding to me about Pam, and Pam (rightfully) wasn’t very impressed. Let’s not do that.

  18. It was a joke joe. The senrex post reminded me of Pam’s posts and I made a joke. The “he he he” was just a homage to your, what I thought was a funny, post.

    I know Pam has no since of humor (see her response to my comment) but you need to lighten up a bit too.

    Having said that I am truly sorry if any offence was taken from my comment.

  19. I don’t NEED to do anything. You jumped off a comment I made to someone else to “joke” about Pam, which put me in the unenviable position of being “in on it” when I had nothing to do with it. I don’t like that six degrees of separation..it needlessly causes strife amongst people who weren’t even involved.

  20. “I don’t NEED to do anything. You jumped off a comment I made to someone else to “joke” about Pam, which put me in the unenviable position of being “in on it” when I had nothing to do with it. I don’t like that six degrees of separation..it needlessly causes strife
    amongst people who weren’t even involved.”

    ^^Whatever.

Leave a Reply

