Tapper Named SOTU Host…

Jake Tapper has been named the new host of CNN’s State of The Union…

CNN announced Tapper’s promotion on Friday morning. He will take over the program in June; he’ll remain the channel’s chief Washington correspondent and the anchor of the weekday afternoon newscast “The Lead.”

Among his peers, Tapper is seen as an authority on politics, something a program like “State of the Union” demands. He received rave reviews when he was the interim anchor of ABC’s Sunday morning hour “This Week” in 2010.

“I couldn’t be more excited about this election season and the new platform I will have at CNN to cover it,” Tapper said in a statement. “‘State Of The Union’ has a rich tradition and I hope to not only build on its history but expand the definition of what a Sunday show can be.”

8 Responses to “Tapper Named SOTU Host…”

  1. As I posted on the “Free for All” thread, it’s hard to argue against this pick, which seemed all too obvious. His tough questioning style seems closer to Chris Wallace than that of George S. (ABC) or Chuck T. (NBC) This is obviously a good thing, if it continues.

    So congrats to Jake Tapper for getting the Sunday Morning show.

    Hard to argue against this pick, which seemed all too obvious. His tough questioning style seems closer to Chris Wallace than that of George S (ABC). or Chuck T. (NBC) This is obviously a good thing, if it continues.

    His ability to attract viewers from both parties may help boost the ratings for this low-rated Sunday morning affair.

    But I advise caution about ratings expectations by the CNN ‘suits’.

    While there was a large outcry from his loyal viewers — especially from many on the right — when his temporary substitute role at ABC’ s “This Week” did not lead to a permanent host position, his ratings were less than spectacular.

    One Sunday, in fact, he had the lowest ratings for “This Week” in the previous four years. Not good.

  2. Oops. I botched my copy, paste and edit from another comment for a different ICN article.

    If we can’t edit, we should at least be able to delete our comment and start over. [wry smile]

  3. About mother ducking time. Saw a great tweet from Bill Weir which pretty much sums it up:

    “”Welcome, @jaketapper. I’ve been waiting for you, like, forever.”
    Signed,
    Sunday Morning”

  4. Good analysis, Michael. I didn’t realize the low ratings from his interim stint at ABC, though. But, IMO, he’s the best in the business. And, one of only a handful of journalists whom I’m not 98% positive which way they vote.

  5. “One of only a handful of journalists whom Iā€™m not 98% positive which way they vote.”

    He’s really dogged and tough toward both sides, isn’t he?

    You hit a responsive chord with your comment. One of my pastimes is trying to guess which way they might vote (or lean).

    One of the toughest for me (along with Jake) is former Politico writer (now with the NY Times) — Maggie Haberman.

    The fact that she used to work for the NY Post made me jump to the conclusion initially that she leaned right.

    Then a year or so ago she was a regular on Alex Wagner’s show (not the new one) and I thought, “Hmmm, maybe she leans left.”

    Then I read some of her columns for Politico and I came away thinking if anyone can detect a bias (either way) they’re a better man (or women) than I. šŸ™‚

  6. ^From the guy who wasn’t sure about Joe Scarborough’s leanings!

  7. Don’t be silly.

    If I had not listed every MSNBC person who I thought would vote Republican, someone would have surely said, “You left out Joe Scarborough.”

    That is why his name was on my list despite your erroneous suggestion (twice) to the contrary .

    Capisce?

  8. I actually wish Tapper was a little tougher than he is. What makes him great, IMO, is that he treats both sides equally.

    The majority of journalists treat liberals with kid gloves while hammering conservatives. I don’t jump out of my seat when Tapper is hard on a conservative/Republican because I know he’s equally tough on liberals/Democrats. And, that’s what is unusual.

    What’s funny (or sad) is that the two best Sunday hosts, Wallace & Tapper, are likely to be stuck in 4th & 5th place just because they’re not on one of the Big 3.

Leave a Reply

