Blogus Interruptus…

indo-2016

SFOTPEDPSMDCSOQUPGDPSTPESFO

I already had Raja Ampat on my bucket list long before I saw Richard Engel’s NBC report on the spot. I have done Palau and Palau is considered a Top 5 dive spot on the planet for most people. But Raja is…special. It’s Top 3…some would say #1 but it really depends on which metrics you use to rank dive spots and what you want in your dives.

I thought Palau was going to be a once in a lifetime trip for me…but then I went back three more times. This is different. The expense involved makes it different. I’ve never thrown this much money at a trip before. It’s more than when I did Komodo and Lombok two years ago. I don’t want to do that again. This is an itch that will get scratched and then I’ll move on to another cheaper itch.

But I will be able to say I dived Raja Ampat. A lot of people never will be able to.

This also allows me to avoid the last few weeks of the election and cable news’ nauseating coverage of it. I get to completely disconnect from the madness that has befallen us. This will be the first election where my choice for President will remain blank. All the choices are bad. All of them. Yes, some are worse than others but they’re all bad and I just can’t bring myself to support any of them.

I fly back on election night and depending on the result may just turn around at SFO and fly back out again.

Blogging resumes November 9th.

6 Responses to “Blogus Interruptus…”

  1. Grandpa Dave Says:

    “This also allows me to avoid the last few weeks of the election and cable news’ nauseating coverage of it. ” Smart move.

  2. The media and Republicans appear to be missing the boat in this latest Clinton email “scandal”. No one knows what’s on the emails and the Democrats have made Comey and the release of the story the issue thus neutralizing Trump’s argument that the emails themselves, despite the fact we know nothing about what they contain, are the big news.

    To me the really disturbing and scary story is why the hell are Huma Abedin’s emails, irrelevant of what they may actually contain, on Anthony Weiner’s computer? That’s a story that may actually have some legs and do some damage to the Clinton campaign. Fortunately for Democrats Trump and the Republicans are so interested in going down the rabbit hole of the possible email contents they are ignoring this really important part of the story.

  3. “So Long, Donna!”

    ^^Actually CNN ought to be saying so long to Roland Martin too as he was the source of the leak.
    BTW: Not even Bernie Sanders cares about this story.

  4. savefarris Says:

    ^^Actually, CNN should be undertaking a Rathergate/Thornberg-type review panel to determine exactly who and how those questions got out. Brazille only got one of the questions from Martin. Martin was unaffiliated with the Flint debate. So we know at least one leaker is still with the network.

    And while Bernie might not care, his supporters do: http://heavy.com/news/2016/10/donna-brazile-sent-debate-question-leak-may-help-dnc-class-action-lawsuit-to-hillary-clinton-bernie-sanders-second-wikileaks-cnn/

    CNN: Your Home for Rigged Debates (Crowley/Brazille)

  5. My only thought on the election of DJT as POTUS

    “Winter is coming.”

Leave a Reply

