Greta Van Susteren to MSNBC?

The Daily Caller’s Betsy Rothstein is hearing things

After all that hullaballoo over at FNC, Greta Van Susteren is making a quick and sudden return to cable news. According to Mirror sources, she’s getting a 6 p.m. time slot on MSNBC.

Van Susteren at MSNBC: Good fit or bad fit?

16 Responses to “Greta Van Susteren to MSNBC?”

  1. Well Given the rumor’s source I’ll wait and see if there’s any truth to this story. If true If it’s true I’m not all that excited by the news.

    Greta is OK and MSNBC is probably a better fit for her political beliefs; but she’s not as good a anchor as three or four other hosts already in the MSNBC stable. In the long run it just doesn’t make much sense too me.

  2. Grandpa Dave Says:

    Probably a good fit. Considering she’s replacing a re-run of a program from another network and has a large following, her ratings should do OK, even up against Baier and Blitzer.

  3. “Considering she’s replacing a re-run of a program from another network and has a large following, her ratings should do OK,”

    ^^She may have a large following over at FNC but I doubt they will follow her over to MSNBC.

    It will be interesting to see how she modifies her political POV to match the more liberal MSNBC. Maybe she’ll try to imitate the ‘straight shooter’ role Smerconish has over at CNN.

  4. Since Greta is actually a democrat I think she will be a perfect fit at MSNBC and they need a full-time legal voice at the table. She and Rachel Maddow are friends!

  5. Ugh… Smerconish… he’s not a “straight shooter,” he’s just wishy-washy and without any real convictions.

  6. “they need a full-time legal voice at the table.”

    ^^They already have Air Melber and Pete Williams as a full time legal reporters – and Melber can host as well. I doubt that’s the roll she’ll play at MSNBC.

    “Ugh… Smerconish… he’s not a “straight shooter,” he’s just wishy-washy and without any real convictions.”

    ^^I don’t disagree blue. What I said is that’s the ‘role’ he plays at CNN. I can’t think of anyone at MSNBC playing that role at the moment. There are a few ‘straight reporter/hosts’ like Todd, Mitchell or Kornacki but opinion types – unless you count Scarborough or Matthews, who think they’re ‘straight shooters’ but aren’t.

  7. Well, those folks are “straight-ish…” but the point is taken.

    I just really dislike Smerconish. I like moderates, but he’s just a mush.

  8. as I said when she left….I hope she does a purely legal show……thats whats she best at………I had hoped she would take over for Nancy Grace…….would have been a good fit.

    On MSNBC she will never have anywhere near the eyes she got on Fox News………but I hope she does well.

  9. I don’t like the fit. No doubt Greta is personally a Democrat, but she’s not nearly radical enough, angry enough or shrill enough for MSNBC. Greta next to O’Donnell and Maddow, ha! She’s very fair and as quick to criticize the left as the right. Plus I agree that a lot of FNC’s fans will not follow her to MSNBC.

  10. I’m just sorry MSNBC didn’t pick Joy Reid for the 6 pm time slot. As are many of Joy’s followers.

  11. “I’m just sorry MSNBC didn’t pick Joy Reid for the 6 pm time slot. As are many of Joy’s followers.”

    ^^I like Joy but she can be a bit of an over the top partisan and get huffy with guests that spout talking points that don’t match her liberal views. Besides she already has a weekend show on the network and is a prominent sub host elsewhere so I don’t think using her at 6 PM was in the cards.

    Greta will draw a somewhat different, and less partisan, audience than Joy and that may draw more viewers in due course. My guess is it won’t but then I haven’t seen the show yet so it may be just the thing MSNBC needs now. We’ll see in a few weeks.

  12. progblacksmith Says:

    ^^I like Joy but she can be a bit of an over the top partisan and get huffy with guests that spout talking points that don’t match her liberal views.

    I can’t stand Joy Ann-Reid at all. I’m not really sure how anyone can stomach watching her on TV, let alone following her tweets.

    She’s a Democratic loyalist and just attacks anyone who isn’t a down-the-line Democrat. Even though she is known as an opinionated host, she lacks the ability to even remotely objective.

    And I probably agree with on majority of the issues, but I just find her demeanor insufferable. Definitely has to be an ego issue.

  13. progblacksmith Says:

    to be even*

  14. Since Reid had a show canceled in the last year at MSNBC for low ratings…….I’d say primetime for her may and should be a long time off.

  15. Sorry to post here on another topic but…
    Thomas Roberts is hosting this AM on MSNBC so maybe the report he was dumped by the network was not correct and he just lost his Dayside show. It could also be that he is just running out the remainder of his contract by filling in where needed.

Leave a Reply

