Anchor Wars 2009: Final Showdown…

Ok, it’s the moment all of you have been waiting for (some of you just so the damn thing would be over with). The final round. Given the candidates and the sheer number of vocal FNC viewers here I hesitate to post what will likely amount to an exercise in inevitability. But I kind of figured it would wind up this way when I started this thing all those months ago.

Today: MSNBC’s Lester Holt and FNC’s Shepard Smith…

Final Tally: Shepard Smith.

I was going to put Ron Burgandy’s name in there but two psyches in one week is a bit much. BTW, The Business Anchor Wars 2009 isn’t going to debut right away. I have to sort through who the 64 will be first. If I can get to 64 (and I don’t know what I’m going to do if I can’t)

40 Responses to “Anchor Wars 2009: Final Showdown…”

  1. joeremi Says:

    Considering the sheer number of FNC viewers here, it doesn’t help that my MSNBC-viewing Oscar goes to…

    The Shepster!

  2. Shep. You might as well start engraving his plaque now.

  3. ndhapple Says:

    Lester Holt. His anchoring of the war in Iraq was absolutely superb.

  4. Other than a few instances when he allowed his personal colours to get on the air (and perhaps justifiably), he truly is a “fair and balanced” anchor.

    Shepard Smith

  5. Shepard Smith. It’s been a pleasure voting in the Anchor Wars. Thanks for the fun, Spud. 🙂

  6. daubermaus Says:

    I refuse to choose.

  7. laural1 Says:

    I’ll buy your vote and give two to Shep.

  8. mcmollymc Says:

    There’s only one for Me.

    Shep.

  9. Shepard Smith.

  10. This is a difficult choice for me, but I’ll vote for Lester Holt.

  11. Shep.

  12. shep

  13. scrapmetal233 Says:

    Lester is bester

  14. minderrr Says:

    Shep

  15. chipsohio Says:

    Shepard Smith

  16. banzaibid Says:

    Lester………

  17. missy5537 Says:

    Normally I would have voted for Shep. But after his idiotic accusations yesterday against conservatives questioning the naming of Sonia Sotomayor as candidate for SCOTUS, I feel otherwise.

    Instead, “I would hope that a wise Latina woman with the richness of her experiences would more often than not” be a better anchor “than a white male who hasn’t lived that life,”.

    So my vote is for Soledad O’Brien.

  18. crp2008 Says:

    Shep Smith all the way…

  19. grandpadave Says:

    Shepard Smith

    Good contest. Thanks.

  20. ucfphillys Says:

    Lestor Holt

  21. One last time for luscious Lester.

  22. cole3346 Says:

    Shep…this has been fun!

  23. bahairus Says:

    Shep Smith!

    (Sorry, Lester…)

  24. SHEP

  25. bigred08 Says:

    Missy, lol.

    Shep is the best anchor in the business. Period. That includes the broadcast networks, too.

  26. paculina Says:

    Shep gets my vote every time, but I’m a little confused, because the other day’s post says Jane Skinner beat out Shep in the vote….

  27. beautifulsunshine34 Says:

    Shep! Shep! Shep!!!

  28. kathi14 Says:

    Toughie….Shep

  29. joeremi Says:

    Missy, don’t have a cow. Shep was questioning the wisdom of conservatives attacking Sotomayer IN THE WAY they are, which is clearly political suicide for them. He was just being an astute political analyst. Now play by the rules and pick someone actually in the contest.

  30. Shepard Smith……could be no other.

  31. bigred08 Says:

    pacu, Spud played a psyche on us. Click on the post & you’ll see he was just fooling.. Smith won handily.

  32. Shep, most definitely

  33. Lester Holt

  34. mccollunsky Says:

    Lester Holt

  35. Lester Holt

  36. asleeporawake Says:

    Love Lester but sorry, Shep gets my vote.

  37. eyecantspel Says:

    http://www.mediabistro.com/tvnewser/generalities/rock_the_vote_lester_holt_vs_shepard_smith_117560.asp

    Nice link. That is a pretty popular website.

    These would have been the 2 I would have chose for the final. I am going with Smith, but if it is decided by 1 vote for Smith I would like to withdraw my vote and make it a tie. With my vote is withdrawn, I would like to write in Jenna Lee.

  38. biznews247 Says:

    Mr. Smith get’s my vote.

Comments are closed.