Ed Schultz Interview…

Politico’s Patrick Gavin does his usual shtick with Ed Schultz

You’re president of the United States for enough time to only make one executive decision. What is it?

Campaign finance reform. Turn the elections back to the people and away from the corporations. If you do that, you will get universal healthcare, multinationals like BP won’t own the Congress and it would advance workers rights. I would also set a real path to energy independence.

What’s a common and accepted practice for Americans nowadays that you think we’ll look back on with regret?

Actually believing Fox News is credible.

19 Responses to “Ed Schultz Interview…”

  1. lonestar77 Says:

    Is there a voice at MSNBC that doesn’t sound like they just escaped from the nut house?

  2. imnotblue Says:

    I once heard Big Ed claim (not sure if it was radio or television) that nobody during the Bush years compared him to a Nazi or protested with Nazi imagery.

    It was that point that I switched to the “off” position. If he’s willing to lie like that, I don’t need to pollute my ears with his voice.

  3. imnotblue Says:

    I once heard Big Ed claim (not sure if it was radio or television) that nobody during the Bush years compared him to a N@zi or protested with N@zi imagery.

    It was that point that I switched to the “off” position. If he’s willing to lie like that, I don’t need to pollute my ears with his voice.

  4. Blue, he said it on TV, and – although he’s probably more my political stripe than yours – that’s about the time I gave up, too. Telling me what I want to hear works better if I know you’re not just makin’ stuff up.

  5. zonedaiatlas Says:

    Ed Schultz is a “Wife beater!” He used to beat his ex wife, co-anchor Maureen Zimmerman of WDAY, until she was black and blue and bruised and bloodied. This guy should be disqualified as a human being and taken off TV and Radio for good.

  6. meggielou Says:

    Somehow, I’m not at all sorry that I have never seen him or his program. Life’s too short to be all eaten up with whatever is wrong with him, especially if your comment is correct, Zone.

  7. zonedaiatlas Says:

    Ed has a long history of violence. He got into a bar fight with a woman over disagreement on Politics.

  8. laura l Says:

    Not to be seen as taking up for Ed Schulz, but a link or some-sort-of proof might be nice before accusing him of battery. I haven’t followed his career, and have no idea if any of that is true.

  9. joeremi Says:

    That’s two hours since Zone was challenged to back up his claims. All I’ve found is a blogger named David Drake, which Zone quoted verbatim. Drake’s bonafides on the subject are that Ed has never sued. That’s pretty weak. Who’s gonna sue a blogger 5 people have heard of? All other references to this topic I’ve found are similar to Zone’s: commenters repeating Drake’s accusation. Fail.

  10. zonedaiatlas Says:

    case number 09-93-C-00131: Maureen K. Zimmerman Vs Edward A. Schultz (it’s under “Civil, Family & Probate Case Records”).

    You can click on the case number and get a list of all the events and orders of the the court in that case (even though the file is itself was apparently sealed on 2/25/04.

    1) the divorce began in 1993 and was granted in 1999.
    2) All kinds of interested events and orders on the list:
    a) 11/2/1995: Ex Parte Temporary Protection Orcer (CCto CC Sher &FGO PD).
    b) 11/2/1995: Application for Domestic Violence Protection Order
    c) 11/16/1995: UCID Hrg Desc: Protection Order
    3) Reference to Contempt proceedings: one on 11/30/1995 where Ed got himself a continuance according to
    this record.

    Sorry Joeremi, I’m not backing down from my claim. It’s been well known in Fargo about Ed Schultz and his ex wife Maureen Zimmerman. He beat his ex wife and has a history of violence including the for of mention with a woman in the bar.

  11. joeremi Says:

    Nothing to be sorry about, Zone. Laura challenged you to back up your claims and you did. I come from a childhood of domestic violence, and take it very seriously. I saw in my Google searches that Ed is in AA. If that is true, he deserves a modicum of compassion if he has turned his life around. My dad never lifted a finger againat anybody sober, and has little memory of his actions as a drunk. Alcoholism is a nasty, sometimes violent affliction, and many alcoholics have a horrible path of damage to face when they ‘get in the program’.

    It doesn’t make what Mr. Schultz did OK, but if he’s a drunk in recovery, flinging terms like ‘wife beater’ around in a political discussion is a little unfair.

  12. zonedaiatlas Says:

    ^
    I take this subject matter very serious Joeremi. You and I can disagree just about everything and that’s cool because this is America. I don’t care if you a conservative, liberal, democrat or a republican. If you beat your wife for any reason. Your scum, you should be disqualified as a human being. The same thing about Rape or making a joke about Rape. My Wife was attacked and nearly raped when she was young and she a nice scar on the back of her leg as a reminder, so I take this type of subject matter very serious to me…

  13. joeremi Says:

    Just so we’re clear, Zone. I’m not absolving Ed of wrongdoing. Alcoholism can be a reason why someone would do something they wouldn’t otherwise do, not an excuse. But if he’s doing the ‘the time’ in his mind for it that I’m guessing he is, I don’t think labeling him ‘wife beater’ in a political discussion is fair. If he was still a practicing alcoholic/abuser, that would be completely different.

    Beyond that, we probably should agree to disagree. We’re pushing our luck on what qualifies for ‘cable news discussion’ here.

  14. savefarris Says:

    I don’t think labeling him ‘wife beater’ in a political discussion is fair. If he was still a practicing alcoholic/abuser, that would be completely different.

    Ask yourself this: would Ed extend the same courtesy to his political opponents given similar facts? If not, why should he himself receive the benefit of the doubt he gives to noone else?

  15. laura l Says:

    — why should he himself receive the benefit of the doubt he gives to noone else? —

    Because we’re better than he is. And you can’t very well complain about one unfairness while responding with another.

  16. Just look at that little fat fart and you can tell he,s just a flakey fluke of a smelly poot. He lies with a grin and thinks all his viewers are his friends, but i tell ya, i,am not a blend,nor should you be to him and consider him your friend. He speaks with a flair, then smearks with an aire that you’ll believe whatever he blairs and you should really care. He lies with ease and exspects you to believe, give me a break, if i think he,s a flake. You see he’s on msnbc and i think they all stink.

  17. ^I’ll have what he’s having. Make it a double.

  18. He is nice now because he is a Democrat. Before he was a nasty Republican. I was disappointed to hear what he did but my father changed & was wonderful. Drinking can make one nasty.

  19. Yes, I’m a little late, but I ran across this page looking for something about Ed Schultz and his being a wife beater. There seems to be smoke, but no fire on that one.

    Can there be any doubt that he’s mentally ill and a raving maniac? Yes, but only because you never know what’s real or what’s just a TV persona. Fast Eddie, Mad Dog, the Man You Love To Hate. Nonetheless, maybe it’s good that he’s now married to a psychiatric nurse.

Leave a comment