Rick Sanchez Fired…

Well this is something of a surprise and will be debated for a while. Rick Sanchez has been dumped by CNN

Rick Sanchez is no longer with the company. We thank Rick for his years of service and we wish him well.

Proportional response to a single incident or a response to a cumulative set of incidents combined with some internal division at CNN regarding Sanchez’s shtick in general? That will be what people will be discussing in the coming days.

Then again, after Octavia Nasr’s all too quick firing for a first time offense, should we be surprised that someone who’s known to have a big mouth like Rick Sanchez gets canned? CNN seems to have become increasingly risk adverse, Eliot Spitzer’s hiring notwithstanding, especially when unauthorized opinions are being given. I’m not the first one to note this. Others like Jay Rosen have been saying this for a while now.

Update: That said, Sanchez did take a direct swipe at CNN Management and by inference its news judgement. Um, does the name Ashleigh Banfield ring a bell? Never, never bite the hand that feeds you. At least not publicly. Controversy with Stewart or no, that dig at CNN is probably enough to get him canned.

Update 2: You should really read the transcript snippet as posted by The Wrap. Or listen to the posted audio. It gives you a better idea of what CNN would be chafing over. It could have less to do with Stewart and “control of the media” and more with talking out of school…

RS- I had a guy who works here at CNN who’s a top brass come to me and say, ‘You know what, I don’t want you to —

PD- ‘Will you wash this dish for me, Sanchez?’

RS- No no, see that’s the thing; it’s more subtle. White folks usually don’t see it. But we do – those of us who are minorities and women see it sometimes too from men in authority. Here, I’ll give you my example its this ‘You know what, I don’t want you anchoring anymore, I really don’t see you as an anchor, I see you more as a reporter, I see you more as a John Quinones – you know the guy on ABC. That’s what he told me. He told me he saw me as John Quinones. Now, did he not realize that he was telling me, ‘When I see you I think of Hispanic reporters’? Cause in his mind I can’t be an anchor. An anchor is what you give the high-profile white guys, you know. So he knocks me down to that and compares me to that and it happens all the time i think. To a certain extent Jon Stewart and Colbert are the same way. I think Jon Stewart’s a bigot.

37 Responses to “Rick Sanchez Fired…”

  1. Josh Kaib Says:

    Of course it was the Jews in charge of CNN that fired him.

    Is it just me or is CNN looking really effed up. Sanchez accounted for three hours of programming as of yesterday!

    I’d also imagine that the DC bureau is rejoicing. I remember people were p*ssed when Sanchez took the 4 pm hour from Blitzer.

  2. It’s just you Josh. How can CNN be effed up when they have Darth Vader’s voice proclaim, “THIS… is CNN”? (Or did they stop using that?)

    I’m surprised… and not surprised. Hmmm… maybe I’m effed up.

  3. lonestar77 Says:

    I don’t like Sanchez because he’s a serial race baiter and a lefty journo who says he’s independent. However, he didn’t deserve to be fired.

  4. I think this transgression alone was enough to sink him. Anti-Semitic remarks are practically intolerable in any case; throwing them at the boss is even worse.

  5. You have to figure that it’s a cumulative-effect of all the dippy crap he’s says, combined with a screw-up to be named later.

  6. Josh Kaib Says:

    If they had Sanchez anchoring the news while dressed as Darth Vader, I would watch. “And next on CNN, Eliot Spitzer and Kathleen Parker fight with lightsabers.”

    At least the comic-book and Star Wars nerds who live in their parents basements would be watching. They’re in the demo, after all.

  7. ^ Ooh. Costumes. The possibilities are intriguing. Sanchez could play Alan Grayson with surprisingly-little difficulty.

  8. I think he was on shaky grounds because of ratings, and he new it. Rick probably felt being more controversial was worth a try, and he miscalculated. Badly.

  9. Lord, that’d hard to read (transcript). Career suicide. Just blah blah blah and won’t stop talking. The interviewer tries to warn him, but he just. Keeps. Talking. Unbelievable.

  10. I listened to the interview and about 10 minutes in you had to know he was gone. I don’t see him ever reappearing on English language TV again although I imagine he’ll have no trouble finding work I Spanish language media.

    I wonder what Geraldo will have to say about this firing?

  11. Geraldo is not going to touch this I think.

  12. “Geraldo is not going to touch this I think.”

    He may not want to discuss it but the next time he’s on O’Reilly’s show I’m pretty sure Billo will bring up the subject.

  13. He was on tonight and they didn’t touch it. I know it’s taped, but I still don’t see it happening in the future. I think both parties will want to stay out of it.

  14. gettingpwned Says:

    look, it generally sucks when anyone gets fired.

    i’ve never seen one of his shows, but every time i hear about him it’s because he’s creating a youtube moment. and that’s not good for cnn or him personally either. he’s not making friends.

    and who the hell doesn’t know where hawaii is on a friggin map?!?!

    therefore, i leave you with this for mr sanchez:

  15. bushleaguer Says:

    It had to have been the “media run by the Jews” crap that sealed his fate.

    Either way, the network is better off – Sanchez was a goofball. Even still, I’d say the odds are even that Sanchez will claim sometime in the future that his ethnicity had something to do with his firing.

  16. missy5537 Says:

    ^

    Maybe he can latch on to Catherine Herridge and her minority lawsuit.

  17. “He was on tonight and they didn’t touch it. I know it’s taped, but I still don’t see it happening in the future. I think both parties will want to stay out of it.” – joeremi

    I watched Billo tonight also thinking he and Geraldo would surely have something to say about Sanchez. I’m really surprised that the subject was never brought up. I would have liked hearing what Geraldo, in particular, had to say since he is half-Hispanic and half-Jewish.

  18. lonestar77 Says:

    RS- “No no, see that’s the thing; it’s more subtle. White folks usually don’t see it. But we do – those of us who are minorities and women see it sometimes too from men in authority.”

    Actually, it’s just that people like Rick search for things that they can perceive to somehow be about race.

  19. They’re in the demo, after all.

    Josh Kaib is brilliant. Of course, CNN would never stoop so low and especially of that meant higher ratings…. but The Weather Channel would!

  20. ”Rick Sanchez, weatherguy!”

  21. I hope he’s gonna be alright. That’s one hell of a fall, and he doesn’t seem all that stable.

  22. PC is so ingrained in all of us that it’s hard to believe a person can just go-off like that, without it being a sign of a larger issue. I mean, 20 minutes , and at no point does he seem to have any sense of it. At least Mel Gibson was drunk, to the extent that that means anything.

  23. “Drunk” crossed my mind. I wonder if he had a glass of wine or something. It’s got that feel to it when reading. I didn’t play the audio.

  24. He sounded totally straight to me. Just, you know, ‘Rick’-like.

  25. iamfirmin Says:

    Thanks goodness. he is gone.. hopefully replaced by someone that will not grate on my nerves… I really think Jon Stewart is funny. its SATIRE..
    I watched the Sat morning news. no one has commented on Ricks firing .

  26. Josh Kaib Says:

    Missy, Herridge isn’t the one suing FNC. The government is. BIG difference. If Herridge was suing she wouldn’t still be one the air. She was all over FNC yesterday.

  27. mlong5000 Says:

    HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!!!!!!! …..OL “HIT AND RUN” finally went to far even for CNN.

  28. ^ Sanchez was a jackass and CNN was probably right to fire him for it, but I don’t think there’s anything funny about it. It’s sad, really.

  29. “I watched the Sat morning news. no one has commented on Ricks firing .” – iamfirmin

    There were LOTS of comments on Rick’s firing on last night’s Red Eye.

  30. “At least Mel Gibson was drunk, to the extent that that means anything.” – laura l

    Exactly. Not that being drunk excuses what Mel said, but I’ve never been a believer in “in vino veritas.” Rick knew exactly what he was saying AND that he was on the air!

  31. Most people, even if they have such thoughts, will have sense enough to keep them to themselves. There is enough of a prevailing understanding that such things are unacceptable.. publicly. That’s why alcohol can be troublesome. No doubt we’ll be hearing from Rick’s ‘friends’ sooner or later.

  32. “I can’t see someone not getting a job these days because they’re Jewish,” Sanchez said, and it’s in that frame of thought that he sarcastically dismissed the Jewish group as being a “minority”. I was thinking that I couldn’t see someone not getting a job these days because they’re Hispanic, either. But in the context of their discussion, I think he was only speaking in terms of the news media industry.

    Is there any truth to what he said? Is what I wrote in the above paragraph offensive to anyone? I’m thinking that Spud was more right from outset, when he opined that Sanchez got the boot because he spoke against CNN.

  33. iamfirmin Says:

    Has Jon stewart commented on Sanchez???

    carolmr
    There were LOTS of comments on Rick’s firing on last night’s Red Eye

    I MISSED RED EYE.. !!!!

  34. “I’m thinking that Spud was more right from outset, when he opined that Sanchez got the boot because he spoke against CNN.”

    I think you may be on to something Al. CNN didn’t give a reason for the firing and left it up to others to define the reason why he was let go.

    This rant may have been a convenient excuse to dump Sanchez who had become an embarrassment to the network for a number of reasons. It would have been difficult for CNN to fire him without a good reason because he was getting acceptable ratings (for CNN) and as a Hispanic his dismissal, without a really good reason, would have raised the ire of the Hispanic community and CNN would be loath to do that.

    You could use this theory to explain other firings as well; such as David Shuster at MSNBC.

    Just a thought.

  35. “Has Jon stewart commented on Sanchez???” – iamfirmin

    I heard that Stewart said something funny along the lines of, All Rick has to do is apologize to us Jews who run everything and we’ll hire him back.

  36. […] can make a judgement mistake on Twitter and get fired. You can make a judgement mistake on the radio and get fired. But at CNN if you commit a big journalistic no-no which damages your credibility as well as the […]

  37. […] but not to anyone else. You can make a judgement mistake on Twitter and get fired. You can make a judgement mistake on the radio and get fired. If you commit a big journalistic no-no which damages your credibility as well as the credibility […]

Leave a comment