Can You Say “Internal IT Security Witchunt”?

Gawker has really done it this time. They’ve managed to (allegedly) get someone (allegedly) on the inside at FNC to pen a column on the network. Our intrepid reporter, or anonymous gutless turncoat depending on your point of view, bashes The Fox Nation and posts a never before seen video of FNC outtake footage from a Romney/Hannity interview.

Whatever entertainment value this story has, and as media writers we are plenty entertained by this, there’s the not at all funny for FNC sub plot that someone has access to archive footage and apparently isn’t afraid to use it nor do they appear all that concerned about getting caught. Which they very well could. I would not be at all surprised to find out FNC is right now running a log check on who were the last people to access that video.

Elsewhere in the video you will see the two men discussing the possibility that this very footage may one day be leaked, as they warn one another against primping too carefully. “You don’t want to have John Edwards moment,” Hannity says. “Did you see that?” Romney replies: “Oh, yeah I saw that. It’s one thing to do it for a second. It’s another thing to do it for an hour.” (And it’s quite another for Newt Gingrich’s wife to groom him like a circus walrus.)

Later, Hannity’s producers ask him to change his necktie mid-interview. Here’s a little TV trick for you: The show was splitting the Q-and-A over two nights, and they wanted to make the second night look like a fresh, new encounter rather than a rehash from last night. So they made sure to change Hannity’s tie lest eagle-eyed viewers spot the repeat. Romney, to his credit, refuses to play along. Offered a pink tie, he says, “I’m not going all Donald Trump today.” That day, Trump had announced his endorsement of Romney. In the portion of the interview that was broadcast, Romney said he was grateful for Trump’s support, and that “he is a man who’se created a lot of jobs, and he shares my concern about China.”

“So why not just leave Fox News?” you might ask. Good question! I’ve asked myself that same thing many times. And I am leaving. Sooner rather than later, I’m guessing. But I can’t just leave quietly, can I? Where’s the fun in that? So I’m John McClane-ing this shit. I’m inside the building, crawling through the air vents, gathering intel, and passing it along to Carl Winslow.

18 Responses to “Can You Say “Internal IT Security Witchunt”?”

  1. imnotblue Says:

    So it appears, from that description, that the video was a whole bunch of nothing about nothing.

    I hope the leaker likes the jobs he USED to have. Once they determine who did it, they’ll show him/her a copy of the contract, the “non-disclosure agreement” I’d imagine gets signed by most folks, and the introduce him/her to the NewsCorp lawyer who will be tasked with destroying their life. Should be a fun meeting!

  2. Romney should release that video as an ad. He actually sounds natural and human even if the subject matter is which of his many horses he rides.

    I’ll bet his handlers would pay big money to anyone who could teach him how to speak in that easy banter rather than the wooden puppet he is on the campaign trail.

  3. Romney unzipped didn’t look too flabby.

  4. So….. you’re an unhappy employee bent on causing some serious grief before you leave and THIS is what you come up with to leak? I don’t buy it.

  5. I think maybe someone tossed a wallet onto Spud’s path with a string tied to it.

  6. imnotblue Says:

    In reading on this a little further… I’ve decided not to be surprised when it turns out that the “leak” was a hoax. Someone (probably through an actual employee) got their hands on some “behind-the-scenes” video, and then figured the best way to publish it (and extra hurt FNC at the same time) would be to create a false persona, ie: the Leaker.

    The information they’ve provided is nothing more than blue-blog copy/paste gripes, nothing (that I’ve seen) that shows they know what they’re talking about, or are anything more than your average FNC-hater with an active imagination.

    So like I said, I won’t be surprised when it comes out that this person wasn’t actually an employee for FNC. I also won’t be surprised when after exposed, the folks who touted them as being “proof of how evil FNC is,” don’t back down, and instead say, “Well, even if it was a hoax, they were still telling the truth that we all know,” and keep up their agressive FNC hate.

  7. ^^ And we know you’ll come back here and eat crow if your wrong and it is a FNC employee and/or no one says how it’s β€œproof of how evil FNC is”. πŸ˜‰

  8. imnotblue Says:

    @ Fritz

    Well, I said I won’t be surprised… not that “this is” how it is, only how it could be.

    As for the “evil” bit, I’ve already read those comments at Mediaite. So either way, that’s not a claim I’ll have to correct.

  9. ^^Your already walking it back blue. πŸ™‚

  10. imnotblue Says:

    @ fritz

    Please show where I contradicted myself, or apologize for suggesting that I did.

  11. Tommy Christopher ‏ @tommyxtopher
    Accidentally wore “Faux News” t-shirt to work RT @mediaite: Fox News Spokesperson Tells Mediaite: We Found The Mole

  12. I’m so very very very sorry if you or anyone was offended by my joking around. You really need to lighten up blue. πŸ˜‰

  13. Tommy Christopher ‏ @tommyxtopher
    Tonight On Hannity: Obama’s ‘Involvement’ With Mole! RT @mediaite: Fox News Spokesperson: We Found The Mole

  14. imnotblue Says:

    @ fritz

    Be funny, and I know you’re joking.

  15. Obama was seen talking to the mole while shaking his hand in the rope line.

  16. posizionamento seo…

    […]Can You Say “Internal IT Security Witchunt”? « Inside Cable News[…]…

  17. […] salary getting out after getting burned once already? Yes, some FNC producers are that stupid (see: The Fox Mole for how dense they can sometimes be) but it still seems too much a stretch to be […]

Leave a comment