Rooting Against Spitzer?

That’s what Marketwatch’s Jon Friedman is doing apparently. ICN hasn’t weighed in on this issue yet. I’m waiting to see what the show actually does first…

Next month, Spitzer will be unleashed on the viewing public every night at 8 p.m. Starting Oct. 4, he’ll be co-hosting “Parker/Spitzer” on CNN with Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist Kathleen Parker. Watch CNN video promo for Parker/Spitzer.

I have been mystified why TV is encouraging — or, even, enabling — Spitzer’s attempt at a comeback. If he wanted to resume his post-scandal life quietly, I couldn’t have cared less.

But it also offends me as a journalist that he will be allowed to sit in an anchor’s chair on CNN — a highly coveted job.

It smacks of yet another stunt by a network desperate to create some excitement. Spitzer hasn’t earned the right to have this kind of forum. Call me old-fashioned, but I took my vote seriously. He betrayed my trust and that of the other Empire State folks who voted for and believed in him.

21 Responses to “Rooting Against Spitzer?”

  1. michellefrommadison Says:

    CNN has also done that with Nancy Grace who is an admitted drug-user and Jane Valez-Mitchell who is also a well-known alcoholic. Same is true of alcoholic Glen Beck who was also there at CNN up until he quit and went to Fox.

  2. I realize talking to you is beyond futile, so I’ll do it as a service for my fellow alcoholics to read, knowing damn well you have no idea what I’m talking about.

    Alcoholism is a lying monster that wants to kill you. Some of us get it, some of us fight back. Jane Valez-Mitchell and Glenn Beck have for many years successfully fought something that tried to kill them, and you can go to hell.

  3. michellefrommadison Says:

    Facts do scare some people Joe, and thanks for proving my points. And, you are most welcome too. 🙂

  4. Friedman brings up a good point, in that Spitzer, a public official, betrayed the public trust.

    And keep in mind that Spitzer wasn’t just a dog catcher, but the state’s AG and then governor. And he and Parker are just smarmy to begin with.

  5. tinafromtampa Says:

    CNN thinks it’s going to regain credibility by putting on this show.

    A known cheat and liar and a “conservative” who admits she only gets awards because she trashes republicans.

    So….I’m thinking big fail. Who is gonna believe a word Spitzer has to say? Who is going to believe a word Kathleen has to say?

    A real con and a faux con…..CNN is in serious trouble if they think this is what’s gonna get them out of their doldrums.

  6. I think I’ll wait and see what the show looks like before I pass judgement on whether it’s any good or not.
    I suppose Mr.Friedman and the commenters above (except Joe)consider the fact that David Vitter and John Ensign didn’t even resign their Senate seats after equally odious affairs to be just fine. Oh I forgot; they’re Republicans and don’t have to follow the same moral code as the rest of us. At least Spitzer resigned as Governor.
    Can you say hypocrites.

  7. If everyone is so down on Kathleen Parker maybe a better choice would be Mark Sanford. Think of the off camera discussions they could have.

  8. I’d definitely watch Sanford if he would appear with his kid. Then we’d have “Sanford and Son”.

  9. bushleaguer Says:

    I get why journalists would be peeved about this, but I thought Spitzer did a good job during his appearances on MSNBC. If enough people are offended that he has been given the job, then they’ll vote with their remote controls and the show will be off the air. I think the show has the potential to do better than the other choices CNN has made for the time slot.

  10. The show title reminds me of Frost/Nixon.

  11. I understand some folks’ reticence to support Spitzer because his “odious affair” involved an illegal activity he was supposed to be prosecuting, but, a). how “good job/nice car/buy me dinner” is different from direct payment for sex mystifies me, so excuse me if I don’t support laws against prostitution, and b). marriage is a minefield with myriad backstories surrounding infidelity, so I don’t care what Spitzer, Ensign, Vitter, Sanford or Bill Clinton did in their personal lives.

    And yes, that goes for “family values” politicians who end up doing the same things they protest. I don’t care.

  12. ” I don’t care.”
    Joe. You don’t care!

  13. I’m careless. Nice irony alert, Fritz. 😉

  14. Plus none of those people are being given a TV show, so they’re not parallel-situations.

  15. Pardon me for recognizing a difference between accepting human ‘frailty’ (i.e. not mentioning them at every unrelated-opportunity), and directly rewarding them. Then we wonder why pinheads make sex-tapes in hopes of becoming famous.

  16. Laura, I don’t think that’s entirely fair. Spitzer got a couple guest spots on MSNBC, and proved to be pretty good at talking on TV. I don’t see his notoriety being rewarded so much as his proven ability carry a conversation.

  17. “Plus none of those people are being given a TV show, so they’re not parallel-situations.”
    No they’re running for statewide office. By that logic Vitter and Ensign couldn’t host a TV show but it would be fine for Spitzer to run for Senate from New York. Hmmm.

  18. And if this thread were about a run for statewide-office, you might have a point.

  19. “Alcoholism is a lying monster that wants to kill you. Some of us get it, some of us fight back. Jane Valez-Mitchell and Glenn Beck have for many years successfully fought something that tried to kill them, and you can go to hell.” – joeremi

    Very well said. I wish Ms. Parker had the same compassion towards people with this disease. She doesn’t have to like Beck, but she seems to mock his 12-step recovery here. I never found her disgusting, but now I do:

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/08/31/AR2010083104879.html

  20. Thank you, Carol, for your words about my comment. I’m not entirely convinced Ms. Parker was outright mocking his addiction, although she pushes her luck near the end of that article. Most of what she said was a straight-up assessment of where Beck’s language comes from. Her heaviest criticism is reserved for his plaint that “we’ve lost God”, which, in my opinion, is where he starts running off the rails.

  21. […] with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American […]

Leave a comment