Free for All: 08/02/11

What’s on your mind?

52 Responses to “Free for All: 08/02/11”

  1. lonestar77 Says:

    For you laura:

    http://www.omaha.com/article/20110802/NEWS01/708029866#girl-s-lemonade-stand-shut-down

    Outrageous! Actually, I do think it’s pretty outrageous but I couldn’t help but think of the conversation regarding lemonade stands and FNC from a couple weeks ago.

  2. jackyboy Says:

    Actually I don’t think it is that outrageous. It saves them from the possibility of something happening and the girl and dad getting sued for everything they are worth.

  3. The late Keith Olbermann gave a special commentary (but, really, aren’t they all special?) last night on some channel on somebody’s cable provider somewhere across the fruited plain and called for an uprising of the people. A peaceful one to be sure.

    He said, in part: “The time is coming when the window for us to restore the control of our government to ourselves will close, and we had damn well better act before then.”

    He’d like to join you with that restoration but, hey, the Yankees are playing at home this week. And he’s got front row seats.

    A man, after alll, can only sacrifice so much to save the Republic from these terrorist Tea Baggers.

  4. mlong5000 Says:

    Yea remember all those people who got sick and died drinking Lemonade from all those other little girls stands?,,,,well I don’t but damit why risk it..just because no one ever got sick or died from drinking them for about the 50 + years little kids have had stands doesn’t mean there’s no risk,,,,thank you Mommy state for protecting us from this great threat.

  5. We criticize, but like TSA with the pat-downs, you just never know where the next threat is coming from.

  6. The entire subject is tiresome, except for the fact that he’s absolutely right.

    http://www.nationalreview.com/corner/273444/hell-you-people-jonah-goldberg#

  7. mlong5000 Says:

    I know Joe got mad at me when I reminded everyone how Dems exploited the Gifford shooting….Well right on time Chrissy Mathews once again tried to blame her shooting on the Tea Party…even though we now know the guy was some nut who had been stalking Gifford for some time…but I guess Chrissy is repeating the current Dem party line that The Tea Party members are Terrorist a term the Left doesn’t even like using for real Terrorist.

  8. Yeah, I’m the only one who was bothered by your sh/tty move yesterday. Ignore the righties who backed me up so you can focus on Evil Lefty. Go screw.

  9. I thought that it was a lousy subject to bring up during, or immediately after Gabrielle Giffords return. Mentioning it in the same breath puts the two on the same moral plane. They’re not.

  10. mlong5000 Says:

    Well Joe I’m sorry but what I said was the truth…..Gifford get’s shot and the first thing the Dems and their pals in the MSM do is blame Sara Palin and The Tea Party…that’s an outrage and I have no problem bringing it up….It’s great to see her up and about…doesn’t change how her party is trying to score political points off her…..and if you were honest Joe you would be just as outraged by the Dems shameless exploitation of her shooting.

  11. starbroker Says:

    Norah has really been making a name for herself at CBS… Today, we have her acting as if Obama will be re-elected.

    Just a few days ago she was getting ripped for the “we got nothing” comment.

    If she hadn’t been such an openly partisan Democrat at NBC–perhaps people wouldn’t jump on all her “slips” now.

  12. starbroker Says:

    Fair and balanced Chris Matthews was at it today blaming the Tea Party yet again and his guests to pile on: David Corn and Ron Reagan Jr.

    The bobblehead crowd was loving this!

  13. Star, Norah didn’t say “we got nothing”, she said “the Dems are saying ‘we got nothing’ “, which the right – including you – are lying about.

    No, Mlong, you’re not sorry..you’re a moron with the worst conservative victim complex I’ve ever seen. Boo hoo.

  14. jackyboy Says:

    ^Conservatives need to kill this Norah thing. It’s getting petty and there are bigger fish to fry.

  15. starbroker Says:

    Funny when Chris Cuomo goes out to do Ambush Interviews of some of the former Amy Duggard parole officers–not a big deal is made about it….

  16. not a big deal is made about it….

    Another victim. What a whiner.

  17. ^C’mon Joe, you mope around this blog moaning that “Fox News is destroying the country”. Your exact words.

    You’ve got little ground to stand on to cite other people’s victimology.

  18. imnotblue Says:

    ^ You watch out steve! With logic and a memory like that, Joe is likely to call you an idiot or a moron… and boy does that sting emotionally. Plus it makes a GREAT argument.

  19. Is this the “Be a jerk for no particular reason”-thread, and I just missed it?

  20. Buncha victims whining. Nothing to see here.

  21. The terrorists won and we’re just bummed about it.

    Geez, if you can’t complain on the internet what good is having it?

  22. Hey, I just wanted to get in on it.

  23. I’m all in for the complaining..it’s the “they’re mean to us because we’re conservatives” thing that irritates me. It’s the standard Andrea Tantaros talking point that gets applied to ANY perceived slight against the right. Allen West used it as an excuse to call Debbie Wasserman-Schultz “vile” and “not a lady”.

    Conservatives give at LEAST as good as they get, and I’m bored to TEARS with their ridiculous victim complex. Especially when they’re WINNING.

  24. You mean like when we call our opponents “racists”, “terrorists” and “hostage takers”, then prattle about “gun sights” and “civility”? Oh yeah, sorry.
    I give Emanuel Cleaver all the credit in the world for at least coming up with something imaginative. “SCSS” will live in infamy.

  25. Yeah, the left en masse calls all conservatives ‘racist’. How many effing times have I heard that ridiculous generalization?

  26. You choose not to see it, yet when we point it out, we ‘whine’. Eyes, closed.

  27. Btw, I don’t give a flip about ‘civility’. When you’re dealing with a bunch of crazy Tea Partiers bent on the destruction of their own government, civility is a waste of time. I could do without the gun and terror metaphors, but screw civility.

  28. Then keep calling names. God knows it’s served you well thus far.

  29. I intend to. There’s too many idiot trolls on this blog who have nothing better to do than always defend their side, and always b/tch about the other one. Useless dittoheads who wouldn’t know an original thought if it ran over them.

  30. I was speaking in a more general, political sense. I’m quite well aware that you’re hopeless. 😉

  31. It’s part of my charm.

  32. jackyboy Says:

    Correct me if I’m wrong joe, but aren’t you doing almost the EXACT same thing from the opposite point of view? It always seems if someone doesn’t offer the same point of view you don’t view they are wrong or an idiot or a sheep or a terrorist or a racist or part of a cult or void of any original thought.

    Granted you are free to your own opinion but the berating of people’s opinions you don’t agree with is getting old. Let’s save petty name calling for Mediaite.

  33. Somebody’s charm around here is in need of a courtesy flush.

  34. I TOLD you, I don’t care about civility. Idiot dittohead “my side is always right”-ers get what they’ve got coming to them. I don’t play that game. I praise and criticize all channels, and all political points of view, based on the specifics at that moment.

    There’s a few conservatives here who NEVER say anything negative about Republicans or Fox, and b/tch and moan day and night about how victimised they are by the The Evil Left. It’s a simplistic, childish, moronic, Pavlovian reaction to reality. Idiots.

  35. I agree with joe. The Left is Evil.

  36. The Left is Evil.

    You say that like it’s a bad thing.

  37. Maybe I should have said it as: The Left is Eee-ville.

  38. jackyboy Says:

    I don’t think the left are evil, they just tend to operate on idealistic emotion which doesn’t work well in the real world.

  39. I don’t care WHAT people think of “the left” as long as they’re willing to see flaws in their own side, and praise the occasional move on the other. That goes for cable news channels as well as politicians. I have problems with FNC’s tendency to morph news, opinion, and political activism all into one monolith, but I watch it, and there’s a lot of interesting things to watch.

    The ideological blindness often exhibited here which treats all things conservative as The Good, and all things liberal as The Bad, amazes me. Not only is it mindnumbingly stupid..it’s mindnumbingly boring.

  40. I hate when they do these man-on-the-street interviews where you know good and well that they cherry-pick the stupidest people imaginable. Leaving aside the fact that it’s utterly pointless on a “news/analysis”-program.

  41. Wonder if there’s a webcam set up for those reflecting pools yet.

    Louise Story, NYT’s Business reporter on Greta gave a concise and totally unbiased analysis of today’s news while aptly highlighting the perspectives of both conservative and liberal-minded approaches. That’s how it should be done.

    Half expect Pinch to blow a hole in his fold tonight.

  42. imnotblue Says:

    Maybe Joe’s right, and I just haven’t been able to see it until now. Let me give it a try.

    I don’t care about people being nice, civil, or respectful. Everyone who disagrees with me is a jerk and a moron, and deserves whatever anyone else says about them. What I can’t stand is when they say I have a problem, or I’m not right, or disagree with my point of view and then have the nerve to complain that I’m not living up to the standards with which I demand they live! Don’t they know who I am? Don’t they know there are two sets of rules… one for me, and one for everyone else?

    I always criticize both sides (except for that I don’t, and don’t you dare point that out)… I just happen to criticize one side a lot more than the other. And nobody else does that. They don’t have the honesty or integrity that I do. They never criticize “their” side… and by that I mean, they never agree with my frequent criticisms. Sure, they may disagree when THEY see fit, but again, it’s not always about them and their opinions… it’s about me an my opinions.

    In summation, anyone who disagrees with me, or complains that I’m a hypocrite or unreasonable is just a bunch of whiners. I virtually always correct, always open minded (despite not really caring what anyone else has to say), and a model citizen. Anyone who disagrees with that is an idiot.

    How’d I do, Joe? I think I summed up “our” point of view really well. Thanks for showing me the err of my ways.

  43. Of course I don’t criticize each side equally, you moron. Conservatism is a reprobate ideology, and FNC is run by a bunch of reprobates. But I don’t defend my side and my channel at all costs, and refuse to ever find anything good on the other, like some of the dittohead idiots around here.

  44. Wow. Sarah Palin told Hannity that if “they were real domestic terrorists, Obama would be palling around with them”. Uh, you can’t say that about the President of the United States.

  45. Whenever I see or read about the oppressed peoples of the world, that oppression is always at the hand of a government run by self-serving elites who claim to know best how their citizens should lead their lives, what they should buy, what they should eat, and what they should believe. Many of these countries even have the words “People” or “Republic” in their names as if no one will notice the lie. I don’t see oppression at the hands of those who fight for freedom, individual responsibility, and for unleashing human spirit and ingenuity.

    Federally-funded programmes are not only wasteful, they’re oppressive. Just like alcoholism or drug dependencies, liberalism is an evil addiction that saps from its victims the drive to rise above the lot in life they born to while simultaneously fortressing the authority for those few fortunate enough to be in power. And the ironic kicker is that it also invariably insulates the already wealthy from most risks of competitive loss.

  46. Well isn’t that special.

  47. I enjoyed it.

  48. I enjoyed it.

    Eh, it was ok. He’s not a dittohead and you’re cute, so you both get a pass from Evil Lefty.

  49. lonestar77 Says:

    “Uh, you can’t say that about the President of the United States.”

    Uh, yeah you can. It’s a great line. Homerun.

  50. Timothy McVeigh was a domestic terrorist. I gaurantee you if a Republican President had been accused of “palling around” with him, you wouldn’t have been happy about it. There’s a limit to what you can say about a sitting US President, and collusion with Americans who blow up children exceeds it.

Leave a comment