Open Mouth, Insert Foot?

I like Joe Scarborough, but he put his foot in it this morning with that ham handed attempt to draw parallels between the Aurora shooter and autism. I read a brief tweet about the incident this morning but didn’t see the comment in context until this evening when I got home.

You have these people that are somewhere, I believe, probably on the autism scale, I don’t know if that’s the case here, but it happens more often than not, people that can walk around in society, that can function on college campuses, can even excel in college campuses, but are socially disconnected. I have a son who has Asperger’s who is loved by everyone in his family and who is wonderful, but it is for those that may not have a loving family and a support group and may be a bit further along on the autism spectrum, an extraordinarily frustrating, terrible challenge day in and day out. and so, I do think, again, I don’t know the specifics about this young man, but we see too many shooters in these type of tragedies bearing the same characteristics mentally.

I won’t go nuclear on him like Mediaite’s Tommy Christopher did. It was a dumb thing to say but I’m not going to make a criminal case out of it.

What is bizarre to me is this ill-advised comment came out of Joe’s mouth today. Not Friday, when this all went down and people are more likely to make snap analysis calls that might prove to be a bad idea later on, but today…three days later when rational thoughts usually prevail.

Predictably, some who have a vested interest in people with Autism have been none too pleased with Scarborough’s comment. I don’t blame them for feeling that way. Joe should probably apologize for his inartful phrasing but that’s about as much contrition as I believe is warranted, especially given that Joe is the parent of an autistic child. He did a dumb thing. I’m sure he knows it. Do the apology and move forward.

16 Responses to “Open Mouth, Insert Foot?”

  1. I agree with “say sorry and move on”. I like Joe, too, and don’t think there was any malice involved. It was a stupid thing to say, and I’m sure he’ll own up to it.

    As for it coming so long after the event..Joe wasn’t right this morning. I don’t know what he’s doing on the semi-vacation he’s on, but sleep ain’t it. He was quite groggy during that segment.

  2. I’ll second “do the apology and move forward.” Joe typically is one of the better ones on cable, though I’ve never been a fan of him when he’s hosting from remote, especially when things like this happen. It just screws up the show’s flow when he has a minor delay, not to mention he doesn’t usually seem that rested.

  3. lonestar77 Says:

    Agreed that he should apologize and move on. The over reaction by some is based on who said it, not what was said.

  4. I’d be pissed if someone on the left said that, too. That’s terribly bad judgment liberal or conservative. Anybody listening to LS seeming to suggest that the left doesn’t have compassion for people with disabilities is stupid, which is ironic since conservatives aren’t very concerned with helping any American and the healthcare they can’t afford… but that’s going off topic.

  5. Or, correct me if I’m wrong, LS are you just saying that the outrage is bigger because a semi-big name media figure (i.e. Scarborough) was the one who made the comment?

  6. missy5537 Says:

    Well isn’t everyone nice and forgiving today re: the remarks of that RINO. Are you responding the same as when Rush said whatever about Michael J. Fox? I believe the you all wanted him removed from the airwaves, and then tarred and feathered, for his comments.

  7. missy5537 Says:

    And another thing. While no one on the right considers Scarborough as “one of us” at this point, I’m sure the left will be blaming us for his comments.

    And BTW, is Joe supporting Romney or 0bama? I can’t stand to watch one second of his show, so I don’t know. Pls. let me know.

  8. paminwi Says:

    The reason I think Mediaite went so ballistic is because of both the comment itself AND the tone with which it was said. I watched it live and thought what a smug, arrogant a**hole he is! Not that this is any different than Joe normally is but to think he would say this with absolutely no basis of fact (maybe he is trying to be like Brian Ross?) just makes ME think he thinks he is just soooo smart.

  9. He gored the wrong ox. He is stupid most of the time. Eventually he picks a subject where it gets noticed. Also, breathing MSNBC air lowers inhibitions.

  10. Are you responding the same as when Rush said whatever about Michael J. Fox?

    Bad analogy Missy. Rush MOCKED Fox. Joe didn’t mock the shooter.

  11. lonestar77 Says:

    I don’t care about Scarborough one way or the other. He said something dumb but the reaction by Christopher was over the top. His outrage level always depends on the politics of the person involved not the actual statement.

  12. Scarborough is a blowhard.

  13. So did he apologize? I was initially pretty ticked off when I first heard it, then chilled a bit, figuring he’d rectify this. If he ignored it this morning and acted like it never happened, I won’t be happy.

    There isn’t a shred of evidence that being on the autism spectrum leads to violence. On the contrary, the “shying away from social contact” aspect tends to send autistics in the opposite direction: Confrontation and violence are “loud” activities diametrically opposed to the cocoon of safety and quiet autistics need. I hope Joe apologized.

  14. Somebody would have to watch to answer that questin. Anybody here watch? Joe, Mika and crew lost me about a year ago.

  15. Maybe “Joe” is just a name of stupid people? After all, the husband of Mary bought into that whole virgin birth thing.

    That would be:
    a) an example of religious ridicule
    b) a funny joke
    c) a Larry joke
    d) truth to power

  16. […] with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American Steroids Online with Bitcoins Buy American […]

Leave a comment